Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I did not get to cook for 24 hours, so I started the brisket on high for 4 hours then reduced to low and cooked for another 16 hours. Was very tender. I did use kosher salt and black peppered the meat before cooking. I also trimmed alot of fat off the brisket. There was still plenty left to flavor it. The sauce was good, but a bit sweet for my family's tastebuds. (I liked it though) 5 stars for my opinion, but gave it 4 because of the opinion of my bunch. I will do it again...but with a different sauce. Also served with kaiser buns and aged swiss cheese slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
A very tasty dish that needs to be a little more bold and spicy. I will use this recipe again, however, I will add some character of my own the next time! I was only serving six people and needed to cut the recipe by 2/3, but it still turned out wonderful. I followed the directions exactly and even used the strongest of coffees you can find here in Italy to cook it in, Caffe Kimbo. Very tender, very juicy and a excellent base to build from. This could be a definite crowd pleaser when served with the right vinegar condiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grill Sergeant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
The best, best barbaque I have ever made. I cut it down to feed 6. Big mistake- this is something you want for leftovers. So good. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have made this twice now. It is one of our favorites! I did not follow recipe on the cooking time. I did not want it to burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hobbs
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The beef turned out nicely, but wasn't quite what I was expecting. It had a mild sweet taste, rather than something more bold. I would add some spice next time to enhance the flavor. This recipe makes a lot (I even cut back to a 5 lb. brisket) so it's good for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I cooked for only 6 people so my brisket weighed only 2.5 lbs. I adjusted the amounts for everything else to suit the size including the time. I cooked it on high for 2 hours in my crockpot, and then I turned it to Low for 6 hours. It was tender and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
There is no option to give NO Stars, because this one was a total waste. I wasted good money on this cut of meat! I wasted 25 hours of electricity! The meat was burnt on the bottom, it was chewy like leather. The only moist part was the FAT on the meat. Now I have to get take-out. I followed the directions to a tee. I used the servings converter to 4 servings for my husband and me. This is the first recipe I've tried on here that I totally hated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
My son and I couldn't resist making this, because of the weird combination of ingredients. It was an interesting experiment, lots of fun! Not bad tasting! - but there are much better recipes for beef brisket on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best brisket we've ever eaten! Not greasy, very tender, the sauce was wonderful! For my cola drink I used diet pepsi with cherry - because that is what I had in the fridge. Turned out great!!! I cooked this over the 7/4 weekend and my family loved it. Will definitely use this recipe again...it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this on Memorial Day for out of town Family and they all raved. Even my husband said he liked it better than the Bar-B-Q beef I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States