Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
SOOO GOOD!!!! my hubby and i were sad when is was all gone!!! my mother and i are from TX and we loved this recipe!!! she said it was the best she ever had!!! :) i made is to serve 6 so i only cooked it for 8 hours! it was perfect!!!! cant wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This turned out great. I read reviews before making it and saw some said it was dry and burned. It seems only a few had that issue but it made me take extra precautions. I used a roasting bag made for slow cookers and also used parchment paper under the lid. This was far from dry. It was the most tender, moist and delicious brisket I have ever made. The sauce is wonderful and I did add about 4 TBS of Louisiana Hot Sauce just to kick it up a bit. My husband really liked it and he's not a big BBQ fan. I put my slow cooker out on the patio because I didn't want 25 hours of even a small heat source in my kitchen since our air conditioner runs 24 hours a day this time of year. I'm a displaced Washingtonian living in Texas for the last five years and have eaten a lot of Texas BBQ. I think this is best I've tasted. Thanks for this recipe. Can't wait to send it to my son who is well known for his BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Nice work. I am 18 hours in right now and turned it to warm while added a little Dale's to spark up some early flavor. Before I added the couple T's of Dales I did sample the beef. It is amazing what a 7.5 lb brisket and a cup of coffee can do with left alone. This is my first "off-smoker" brisket and I fully endorse the recipe. The sauce is spot on too with minor adjustments (a little less ketchup and some habenero chile). Onward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
If you follow the directions for this recipe you will be pleasantly surprised. I actually did cook it for the 24 hours on low and my family loved it. Unfortunately there was only a 2.5 lb brisket available but none the less there was none left. I will and have cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was so burnt and tough we couldn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this on Memorial Day for out of town Family and they all raved. Even my husband said he liked it better than the Bar-B-Q beef I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best brisket we've ever eaten! Not greasy, very tender, the sauce was wonderful! For my cola drink I used diet pepsi with cherry - because that is what I had in the fridge. Turned out great!!! I cooked this over the 7/4 weekend and my family loved it. Will definitely use this recipe again...it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
My son and I couldn't resist making this, because of the weird combination of ingredients. It was an interesting experiment, lots of fun! Not bad tasting! - but there are much better recipes for beef brisket on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
There is no option to give NO Stars, because this one was a total waste. I wasted good money on this cut of meat! I wasted 25 hours of electricity! The meat was burnt on the bottom, it was chewy like leather. The only moist part was the FAT on the meat. Now I have to get take-out. I followed the directions to a tee. I used the servings converter to 4 servings for my husband and me. This is the first recipe I've tried on here that I totally hated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra DeFalco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I cooked for only 6 people so my brisket weighed only 2.5 lbs. I adjusted the amounts for everything else to suit the size including the time. I cooked it on high for 2 hours in my crockpot, and then I turned it to Low for 6 hours. It was tender and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States