Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Good recipe. Never thought I would put a brisket in a crock pot, but this works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bblaino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I always used the oven to slow cook my brisket, but never again!!! This meat had a wonderful beef flavor and superb, tender texture. I used a 2 1/2 lb brisket I purchased at my local meat market. and adjusted the recipe accordingly (6 servings). I also lessened the cooking time to 13 hours. The meat pulled apart with ease. I can recommend this recipe and I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
People who are saying that this was burnt and chewy.. listen up! lol you can't reduce the size of the cut to accomodate less people and NOT change the cooking time as well! 1 reviewer wrote that she calculated for 4 people, which is only 1.5Lbs of brisket - then it states that she still cooked it for 24 hours!! Of course it was leathery and inedible - reduce the cooking length too!. This is a 5 star recipe when done properly. I did add some chipotle and some hot cayenne sauce to counter the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
No zip to this. I will continue to search for a better brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've made this twice and both times it has turned out absolutely delicious. The first time I halved it for a smaller brisket. I wonder if the people who wound up with a burnt brisket forgot to cook it on low, and used high instead? This has become a favorite for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was pretty good. Not the best BBQ I've ever had, but decent nonetheless. My fiance wasn't particularly impressed, but he can sometimes be picky lol!!! For the expense incurred, I think I'll stick with my standby BBQ beef recipe (also made with a homemade sauce - which is absolutely delish!). I ended up using a 2.5 lb. brisket since I was cooking for just the two of us. It cost me $14 bucks (whoa!). If I didn't have all of the other ingredients readily available, I probably would have used a different cut of meat to keep the cost down (since I'd have to buy all of the other stuff) or skipped this recipe alltogether (which I didn't want to do). I pretty much followed this exact except for adding several shakes of Tabasco hot sauce due to other's warning of sweetness. I don't think it made much difference though (oh well!). Served on fresh kaiser rolls with a generous heaping of coleslaw (on our sandwiches, but you could serve as a side if this idea doesn't float your boat) and kettle chips on the side, this was an easy-to-fix, filling Sunday evening meal. I must say, you can't beat the convenience factor, and for that alone, I give 5 stars (minimal cleanup!). Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Fantastic! Not dry at all and better than many of the brisket sandwiches that I have had at really good BBQ places. I followed the directions but reduced the meat to 6 lbs but kept the amount of sauce. I cooked for the full time as in the directions. Added just a little hot sauce since others said it was a little too sweet but seemed just fine to us. This will be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this on labor day for annual party,first time,what a hit with the family and friends.not a stitch of leftovers.all ready asking when I will make it again.Minnesota thanks you Texas,it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
this recipe was awesome when following the directions AND serving size! :) Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Put it on last night so it would be ready when I got home from work. Left the last hour for my daughter to do. Well the sauce got poured over but it didn't get pulled apart. I will never cook a brisket on the grill again. Loved it and we are in Texas. Nanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States