Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have made this several times. Even if you have NO cooking experience, you will be able to make it perfectly. I usually use a 4-6 lb brisket. It is super easy to make and I never have leftovers. I don't make the sauce ahead of time. I make it right in the slow cooker after I take the meat/broth out. It requires little attention and makes your house smell graat. I am making it for our Memorial Day cookout. The flavor is awesome. The 24 hour cooking time can be adjusted by a few hours if you run out of time and start cooking it late! Don't be afraid to try this. For those who gave it a poor rating, they couldn't have cooked it properly. I use a "mug" of coffee rather than just a cup, but it still makes a lot of broth during the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Excellent, tender meat. I'm not sure I really consider it "Texas" barbequeue.. as some say, the sauce isn't overly bold, but it's a pleasant tasting sauce. You can always ad lib the sauce ingredients to your taste anyway. I think that for the issues people are having with tough meat, one problem might be the cut of meat. The recipe calls for "untrimmed" beef. That will produce enough juice that the meat is basically floating in it's juices by the time you're done and can't possible dry out. I would avoid the trimmed brisket unless you add more liquids yourself (I actually spooned out about two cups of juice about halfway through cooking because the crock pot was so full. I figure that I discarded about 40-50% of the original weight in juices and trimmed fat, so an 8 lb untrimmed brisket isn't as much as it seems like it would be (of course it's a fairly cheap cut of meat as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I had 2 lbs of brisket, so I followed the advice of cooking it on high for 2 hours in the crockpot, and then low for 6 hours. I wasn’t 100% sure if I was supposed to keep cooking it in coffee along with the other liquids, or dump the coffee. So I drained the coffee before adding the sauce for the last hour. My only experience with brisket is Armadillo Willies, which seems really all about the BBQ sauce. At first, I thought this recipe was just okay when I took a bite from the pot. But then my boyfriend came over with a big sandwich from the local cheese steak shop (he didn’t know I was cooking). I made a sandwich with this brisket, and we did a taste test of both sandwiches. This recipe was 100x better than the recipe from the sandwich shop. Even though they tried to flavor theirs up with peppers, onions, and cheese... theirs wasn’t as good… and I didn’t even put all that stuff on mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe is easy and excellent! Make sure you use liquid coffee, not coffee grounds. Dear Husband assembled this in the crock-pot for me and I came home to a brisket covered in coffee grounds! We had to wash the coffee grounds off, and despite this it was still some of the best brisket we've had...and we're from Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made the for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was really good! We had a smaller portion so we didn't follow the cooking times, but the meat and the sauce were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The beef was very tender, but the sauce was lacking. I'm not sure if it was because there was a lot of juices and I didn't drain the juice off before I added the sauce? I did skim the fat off first. I've had better pulled beef, and will keep looking for one our family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this today and it was soooo good. I followed the recipe exactly except when I opened the packages of brisket it said to use the juices that came in the package when you cooked it. I cooked the brisket in the coffee as well as about 2 cups of juices that came with the brisket. I will pass this on to others and make it again. A huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I haven't made this yet, but I was looking at the bad reviews. I noticed some people scaled the recipe down for 4 people then complained that the brisket was burned. If you're using a 1 1/2 to 2 lb brisket, you can't cook it for 24 hours. You would have to reduce your cooking time. Try it again and see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sayre, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States