Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was delicious! I adjusted the cooking time for a 6 lb brisket,cooking it for about 16 hours. Definitely reduce the sauce before because it is runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Sellers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I was quite skeptical because of the ingredients, but will use this as our main brisket recipe now! Was a good mix of sweet and spicy. Will add a bit more spice next time though to accommodate my family's taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is by far one of my husbands all-time favorite recipes. I do spice it up quite a bit by adding jalapenos and ghost peppers (he loves spicy). It's a very simple recipe with very little prep time. Great for parties and picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made this for our wine club. I had to make two huge briskets to serve about 40 people. Everybody raved about it! There were NO leftovers. Tonight I'm making it again as everyone begged for a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
First time trying a brisket in the slow cooker...after reading all the reviews, both good and bad, I must say it turned out quite good. My 5-1/2 qt slowcooker was just barely big enough for an 8lb brisket, but I cut it in half & it fit! I only cooked it for 12 hrs on low as my Rival SmartPot crockpot cooks way too hot, even on low & it was done perfectly. I shredded it last night, refridgerated it & will add the sauce tonight, warming it stovetop. I also just ordered a new slow cooker (a different brand)! Hopefully the new one will be more reliable as we want to have this again & again. Perhaps other are having the same issues with their slow cookers, if so decrease the time on this and other recipes. Apparently the manufacturer does make quite a difference. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKBerney523

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I don't normally follow recipes, but I was looking for a brisket that used Coca Cola in it. I tried this one, and the only thing, and I mean the only thing that needs to be amended on this recipe is, how does one shred the beef? I followed the instructions and the meat came out stringy and tough like some of the users have reported here. Normally I would cut it across the grain, and this would have been out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is amazing brisket! Have made it several times. Makes a lot but u WILL want leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Very good. Used a 10 lb brisket. Had to remove drippings as they got close to the rim. Did the whole 24 hour cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Cut the servings down to 5 (2 lb brisket). Cut the cook time down to 6 hours. Could possibly be seasoned with garlic or cayenne, but delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Lose the coffee. I've tried this several times as I've searched for a brisket recipe that my honeybunny will like (he doesn't like the traditional Irish application) and I keep trying to tweak this one and it's come down to the coffee - lose it. I also added some smoked paprika, cumin and a packet of beefy onion soup mix. MUCH BETTER! Seriously though, the coffee needs to go. I finally put my finger on it and that's what it was. With those additions and the omission of the coffee it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States