Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was delicious! I adjusted the cooking time for a 6 lb brisket,cooking it for about 16 hours. Definitely reduce the sauce before because it is runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Sellers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I was quite skeptical because of the ingredients, but will use this as our main brisket recipe now! Was a good mix of sweet and spicy. Will add a bit more spice next time though to accommodate my family's taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is by far one of my husbands all-time favorite recipes. I do spice it up quite a bit by adding jalapenos and ghost peppers (he loves spicy). It's a very simple recipe with very little prep time. Great for parties and picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made this for our wine club. I had to make two huge briskets to serve about 40 people. Everybody raved about it! There were NO leftovers. Tonight I'm making it again as everyone begged for a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
First time trying a brisket in the slow cooker...after reading all the reviews, both good and bad, I must say it turned out quite good. My 5-1/2 qt slowcooker was just barely big enough for an 8lb brisket, but I cut it in half & it fit! I only cooked it for 12 hrs on low as my Rival SmartPot crockpot cooks way too hot, even on low & it was done perfectly. I shredded it last night, refridgerated it & will add the sauce tonight, warming it stovetop. I also just ordered a new slow cooker (a different brand)! Hopefully the new one will be more reliable as we want to have this again & again. Perhaps other are having the same issues with their slow cookers, if so decrease the time on this and other recipes. Apparently the manufacturer does make quite a difference. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKBerney523

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I don't normally follow recipes, but I was looking for a brisket that used Coca Cola in it. I tried this one, and the only thing, and I mean the only thing that needs to be amended on this recipe is, how does one shred the beef? I followed the instructions and the meat came out stringy and tough like some of the users have reported here. Normally I would cut it across the grain, and this would have been out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is amazing brisket! Have made it several times. Makes a lot but u WILL want leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Very good. Used a 10 lb brisket. Had to remove drippings as they got close to the rim. Did the whole 24 hour cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Cut the servings down to 5 (2 lb brisket). Cut the cook time down to 6 hours. Could possibly be seasoned with garlic or cayenne, but delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Lose the coffee. I've tried this several times as I've searched for a brisket recipe that my honeybunny will like (he doesn't like the traditional Irish application) and I keep trying to tweak this one and it's come down to the coffee - lose it. I also added some smoked paprika, cumin and a packet of beefy onion soup mix. MUCH BETTER! Seriously though, the coffee needs to go. I finally put my finger on it and that's what it was. With those additions and the omission of the coffee it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States