Slow Cooked Teriyaki Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Very good! I used a venison rump roast and added minced garlic and chopped onion. Also added about 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper. I did not strain the meat broth but left all the yummy bits of meat, garlic and onion in with it. I decided to use up 1/2 a roasted sweet red bell pepper I had so cut it into small pieces and threw it in after the roast was done and the gravy thickened. I served this over white rice. The meat was not super juicy, but it was much more tender then if I had cooked the roast in the oven. And it was just as moist as a beef rump roast I used to make Italian beef out of the week before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I used apple juice the first time I made this and found it to be too sweet; I now use about 1/2 cup natural (no sugar added) apple sauce. I also sub teriyaki sauce for the soy, and add garlic, pepper, and sliced onions to the pot. It turns out perfect that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
did take longer than 6 hours, more like 9 hours - however once done, I shredded it and put the gravy on it...yum like BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very good actually cooked it about 9 hours (waiting on dutch oven camp potatoes) just turned so often and basted it so often. The whole family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
not a fan of roasts or any cuts of venison besides the backstraps and tenderloins, but this was great! my husband, who is very picky, but is a hunter, loved it, as did my mom who doesn't like venison either! i even used a shoulder and neck roast, i believe. it was so tender and tasty! i used cider instead of apple juice, since that's what i had - not sure if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Add jalapeno peppers for an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molson13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Just okay. Made with a loin and was much too dry. Gravy was too sweet. Wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. I make one very similar with the following adaptations: applesauce instead of apple juice, 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, 1/2 can undiluted frozen orange-pineapple juice, 2 large crushed cloves garlic, 1 thinly sliced sweet onion. I also add enough water to coat the roast, otherwise it dries out. Goes to show you the original is a good basic recipe, and folks should experiment to their own taste. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou Kussard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This came out soupy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
EXCELLENT recipe!! I cook a lot of elk and venison, and this is one of the best recipes I've found. The gamey flavor was completely gone, and the sauce is incredible! My only complaint is that the meat ended up a little dry, but it's almost impossible with venison roast because it's so lean. I'm going to try this with elk, and maybe even duck breast. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States