Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
First time ever cooking pulled pork and using my slow cooker. Something went wrong, because the taste of vinegar is very strong; the pork meat was very dry, and my hopes went cascading to the floor. I need to find another recipe, if I find the strength to resist the pull from the pork at the store!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Delicious and so easy! Followed other reviewers' advice and drained off half the brine before cooking and replaced it with beer. 8-10 hours on high seemed long, so I checked after 6 hours and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written except i used 1/2 cider vinegar and 1/2 white because I didn't have enough white on hand.It smelled great and was tender.Made sandwiches with bbq sauce,cheddar and onion rolls and loved it.Used it the next night for tacos with salsa and sour cream.You could really taste the vinegar with the tacos.I love NC style bbq but without the heavier flavors to mask it this was too tangy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing! I didn't add as much vinegar as it asked for because I simply didn't have much. But according to other reviewers it would have tasted too vinegary anyways. It came out perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
We just finished having this for dinner and it was fantastic-- my slaw was store bought and that was disappointing but otherwise Im already planning to make this again soon and I have at least 3 more days of eating this round
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
this was fantastic. as recommended by other reviewers i used apple cider vinegar and poured off enough brine to make room for a can of beer, rubbed the meat down with spice mixture and placed in slow cooker. awesome. will definitely be putting this on my summer menu list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Mills, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I love this recipe. The pork is so flavorful and tender. That hint of vinegar is so unique and wonderful. I did use Apple Cider Vinegar. I didn't have Kosher salt so I used regular. And like other reviewers, I found that the original recipe has a potential error. When draining off the liquid, you can expose 1/2 the meat or even 2/3 of the meat. I've made this 3 or 4 times and will never make the other recipes again. And like others, I prefer Sweet Baby Ray's sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
So vinegary I couldn't tolerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Yum! A recipe that is easy tweak so you can give it your own signature touch whatever that might be. I let it sit in the brine 24 hours. Removed the necessary amount of brine and added a bottle of beer and cooked for 10 hours. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is good barbecue. I like St Louis, Memphis, East Carolina, South Carolina, western Carolina, TExas, you name it. I've learned to enjoy all flavors and you won't hear me whining about too much vinegar,too much mustard, etc. IF you don't like barbecue, don't eat it! Slow cooking pork is the way to go as far as I'm concerned. Only thing better is one of those roadside huts with the smoker out back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States