Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Way too much vinegar. Even the smell when this was cooking was unappetizing. I'm glad it was a cheaper piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocky'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is AMAZING! I have tried multiple pulled pork recipes and this tops them all. I made the recipe almost as-is and it was perfect. I just didn't have enough white vinegar so I did 1/2 white vinegar and 1/4 apple cider vinegar and 1/4 white wine vinegar. In my opinion, the absolute best way to eat this is with some meat, a little of the cooked onion, coleslaw, and your favorite BBQ sauce ... all on top of Costco's pretzel buns. Oh I could just DIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ronwebster
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Left covered with aluminum sheet for 5h then partially uncovered for another 5h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Just making this now. It's my first time using a slow cooker and first time making pulled pork. Am concerned about the amount of vinegar left once pouring off just enough brine to expose 1/2 inch of pork. The spice mixture is literally heaped on the exposed surface of the pork like mountain. This can't be right. Should I pour off more brine? Don't want to ruin $40 worth of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I was skeptical after reading the reviews of too much vinegar taste. I did not think it had much of a vinegar taste at all. I thought it was excellent. I added a tablespoon of cayenne pepper to rub. I used Sweet baby Rays bbq sauce with the pull pork which was delicious. I also tried one with a mayonnaise garlic mix in addition to the bbq mix. 1 cup mayonnaise and two cloves of garlic minced mixed together. This was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
First time ever cooking pulled pork and using my slow cooker. Something went wrong, because the taste of vinegar is very strong; the pork meat was very dry, and my hopes went cascading to the floor. I need to find another recipe, if I find the strength to resist the pull from the pork at the store!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Delicious and so easy! Followed other reviewers' advice and drained off half the brine before cooking and replaced it with beer. 8-10 hours on high seemed long, so I checked after 6 hours and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written except i used 1/2 cider vinegar and 1/2 white because I didn't have enough white on hand.It smelled great and was tender.Made sandwiches with bbq sauce,cheddar and onion rolls and loved it.Used it the next night for tacos with salsa and sour cream.You could really taste the vinegar with the tacos.I love NC style bbq but without the heavier flavors to mask it this was too tangy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing! I didn't add as much vinegar as it asked for because I simply didn't have much. But according to other reviewers it would have tasted too vinegary anyways. It came out perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
We just finished having this for dinner and it was fantastic-- my slaw was store bought and that was disappointing but otherwise Im already planning to make this again soon and I have at least 3 more days of eating this round
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States