Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Pretty good and extremely easy. A little vinegar-y for our tastes so I think next time I'm going to use half of the brine and use beer for the rest of the liquid once in the crockpot and add a little more brown sugar into the spice blend. I like cooking meat with beer in the crockpot as it adds a certain sweetness. I think this might balance the vinegar out for me. I look forward to trying it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDALET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I loved this recipe for a pork roast. I've had trouble finding a good one I like. The spices were a good combination and not too much. Next time I'll add some whole potatoes in towards the end to cook in with it. I wouldn't change anything with the spices or anything, I liked it the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Very easy recipe. had trouble finding a pork shoulder that small, bought an 8 pound, but just doubled the recipe and it turned out AMAZING. This is my first time trying to cook a pulled pork recipe....my teenagers wanted to know when i was going to fix it again! VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I used the recipe exactly as stated. It was perfect. After it was done I added some Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce to the meat. I didn't overdo the sauce but enough to my taste. My husband just adds extra sauce to his. I have made pulled pork many times and this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
best. pulled. pork. EVER. I used cider vinegar and pork tenderloin because that's all I had. After RAVE reviews from our guests, one of them asked where we had the pork catered from! It was "melt in your mouth amazing" per my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made this for our 4th of July celebration with 2 couples from Church. I've been receiving compliments for 3 days. Every time I run into one of the guests they bring it up again. What I did was after pulling the pork I added about 3-4 tablespoons of KC Masterpiece Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce and mixed that up real well. Then I put a bowl of the same sauce on the table so everyone could put on as much or little BBQ sauce as they wanted. It's been said this BBQ was as good as any restaurant and I'm in NC where BBQ is a really big deal. While it takes a lot of time it's actually very little work. Other than the sauce I followed the recipe exactly. Best ever BBQ sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made a 8 lb shoulder in my largest slow cooker and it fit fine. I was worried about some of the comments re:the vinegar taste so after brining overnight, I drained off half the liquid and replaced with beer. Cooked overnight (about 14 hours) and woke up to the most delicious smell filling the house! strained the liquid into a bowl and added the meat and let cool in the fridge. OH MY GOD. The BEST BBQ I have EVER had bar none! I stored the pulled pork in the liquid in the fridge and no one least of all me could leave it alone! Served it as sandwiches with my homemade hot and sweet BBQ sauce. HEAVEN! GREAT RECIPE FOR LIFE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Was a great hit! I used hawaiian rolls and made mini-sliders. Make sure when shredding to get all the good meat away from the fat. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teri Holland-Hill
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Easy to prepare! Cooked for 8 hours in crock pot, was easy to pull apart and separate the fat from the meat. Added about a cup and a half of barbecue sauce for flavor. It was the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Holland-Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was my first experience with brining. It was a great recipe to start with. We loved it. However, the next time I will put the crock pot in the laundry room to cook, as the vinegar smell really bothered me. Thanks for a simple, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States