Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is awesome! All kinds of compliments. Some even saying it was better than Dickeys. I've used apple cider vinegar and the regular distilled vinegar and the apple cider vinegar is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kilyena
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe for pulled pork. I couldn't find a 3 lb. shoulder so I bought a 7 lb. and cut it in half. Put the other half in the freezer to cook a pot roast later. Followed the recipe exactly, when it was done I strained the fat from the sauce and discarded, brought the sauce to a boil added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup brown sugar, poured it over the pulled meat. It was delicious! It needed just a little more sweet to off set some of the vinegar. Also tried it with Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce and it was so good. The blend of both spice sets really compliment each other. Made some cole slaw to go with it and YUMMY! This is a keeper. I live in NC which known for it's pork barbecue. This is about as good as any I've had before. It's good with or without the Sweet Baby Ray's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe exactally the way it was written. I soaked the pork roast for 12 hours and cooked it for 8 hours in the crockpot. Although this recipe was very easy, my entire family found the taste to be over killed with vinegar. I will never try this recipe again,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious. The whole family loved it. We put the pork in flour tortillas with avocado and pico de gallo sauce. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent taste for such a very simple recipe. Last night we had carnitas and tonight pork shoulder sliders with BBQ sauce and Hawaiian rolls. Mmmm. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
First, the smallest I could find was a 6 pounder and it barely fit in my BIG cooker. I had to first slice off huge amounts of fat on the thing. I followed the original recipe - brining, slow-cooking. Put it in frig to pull apart the next day. Well, it was tender but it was so fatty throughout that I pulled enough for two sandwiches and threw the rest away. There was just WAY too much fat for our taste. I'll stick with slow-cooking beef that's not as fatty or artery-clogging. Tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Other than the fact that you need to begin prep a day before you want to serve, this recipe is really easy and not to mention tastes fantastic! I add a little BBQ sauce to the shredded meat, but otherwise made the recipe as written. For the leftovers, I freeze them in muffin tins and then store them in freezer bags. The resulting single serving "meat pucks" are just as good as the origional when thawed out later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is the best! Even my finicky daughters, ages 7 and 8 look forward to this meal. I add some barbecue sauce after I've drained the meat and shredded it, and then I let it cook on low for about 30 minutes--YUMMY! Be careful with the vinegar. One time I made it, and it was too vinegary. The brining is what makes this recipe, though. It's so easy and great to make on a busy weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
It is a good recipe but I don't think I am down with the mustard powder. I would add less or none if your not a fan mustard...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Hope you like vinegar! My husband and I love pulled pork. Made this recipe exactly and anticipated it all day. What a let down. The vinegar was so overpowering we won't be eating the left overs and we could barely finish the meal. The only good thing I can say is it was extremely tender. I can't believe more people have not commented on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States