Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I have been making a different pulled pork recipe for years. This recipe smoked it! It was OUTSTANDING. I did 2-to-1 on the vinegar and let it brine for 24 hours. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Definitely going to use this one again. I don't have THAT much vinegar on hand so I ended up using about equal portions of white and cider vinegar with a touch of white wine vinegar just to have enough to mostly cover the meat. I also didn't have ground mustard on hand - so I used whole mustard seeds. Might be missing something (will have to see next time), but it still turned out really nicely with a lovely tangy taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this recipe as written and my family ate it as quickly as they could, and asked when I planned to make it again. I was a little hesitant with all the vinegar, but I think that's what gave it such a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Phenomenal Dan, I have made this many times now and it's a huge hit for every party. Everyone requests that I bring this ALWAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Harris Blacklist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This came out beautifully. Not too fatty, and without the full-on bbq flavor that most crockpot pulled pork recipes seem to have (I prefer to sauce after pulling). I had been concerned it'd be too vinegary but you really don't get any acid taste except a very faint bite which is quite pleasant. I did, however, use apple cider vinegar instead of white, since that was what I had around and I think it's got a nicer flavor anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent! Excellent! Reviews say strong vinegar taste -- not to me. I used 1/2 apple cider & 1/2 distilled vinegars Cooking time varies with slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is awesome! All kinds of compliments. Some even saying it was better than Dickeys. I've used apple cider vinegar and the regular distilled vinegar and the apple cider vinegar is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kilyena
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe for pulled pork. I couldn't find a 3 lb. shoulder so I bought a 7 lb. and cut it in half. Put the other half in the freezer to cook a pot roast later. Followed the recipe exactly, when it was done I strained the fat from the sauce and discarded, brought the sauce to a boil added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup brown sugar, poured it over the pulled meat. It was delicious! It needed just a little more sweet to off set some of the vinegar. Also tried it with Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce and it was so good. The blend of both spice sets really compliment each other. Made some cole slaw to go with it and YUMMY! This is a keeper. I live in NC which known for it's pork barbecue. This is about as good as any I've had before. It's good with or without the Sweet Baby Ray's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe exactally the way it was written. I soaked the pork roast for 12 hours and cooked it for 8 hours in the crockpot. Although this recipe was very easy, my entire family found the taste to be over killed with vinegar. I will never try this recipe again,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious. The whole family loved it. We put the pork in flour tortillas with avocado and pico de gallo sauce. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States