Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
You should have seen the kids' faces when I told them we were having pulled pork with slop sauce for dinner. Slop sauce, what's that?! It has become a family favorite. This is really easy and comes out great. I make this every time pork roast goes on sale. I use apple cider vinegar and add a little more brown sugar and some cayenne pepper. Being from the South, I like the sweet heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made it exactly as written. It was spectacular! Tender, moist and awesome flavor. I fished the onions out and discarded. No BBQ sauce needed, in my opinion! I'm adding this to our family favorites! I think my pork roast was about 4#. It makes alot--I would estimate it serves 8 ppl at least. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The pork was delicious. I have a small crock pot, so adjusted the vinegar/water and cut down on the salt a bit. I was nervous that it would taste like vinegar, but it didn't. I also added some Sweet Baby Ray's after shredding, and served more on the side. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellant, no sauce needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
3 stars for flavor, 4 for tenderness, 5 for aroma! If/when I make this again (I probably will because I love using my crock pot), I'd substitute a bunch of the vinegar with - ??? - maybe plain old apple cider. We had friends for dinner who are originally from the South, though, and they really liked it, so it could be just a regional thing - plus the fact that due to a change in plans, we left it marinating for 3 days instead of 24 hours. Oops. ;) I'll definitely give this another shot, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe is great. I substituted apple cider vinegar for white and I forgot the onion but it still came out great. I particularly like this recipe because it will go well with any bbq sauce you put on it afterwards. Some have complained about to strong of a vinegar taste but I disagree, I enjoy the subtle vinegar flavor. Great recipe and plenty left to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made a 8 lb shoulder in my largest slow cooker and it fit fine. I was worried about some of the comments re:the vinegar taste so after brining overnight, I drained off half the liquid and replaced with beer. Cooked overnight (about 14 hours) and woke up to the most delicious smell filling the house! strained the liquid into a bowl and added the meat and let cool in the fridge. OH MY GOD. The BEST BBQ I have EVER had bar none! I stored the pulled pork in the liquid in the fridge and no one least of all me could leave it alone! Served it as sandwiches with my homemade hot and sweet BBQ sauce. HEAVEN! GREAT RECIPE FOR LIFE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I was hesitant about trying this recipe because of the vinegar but it had good reviews so I gave it a try. I'm glad I did, it's awesome! I used slightly less vinegar than the recipe called for only because I didn't have enough. It was just the right amount of flavor. Super easy recipe! Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I am from NC and love Eastern NC style BBQ/pulled pork! This is SO easy and delicious - I used cider vindegar, brined about 8-10 hours and cooked overnight in croc pot for 8-10 hours! I had recently purchased a vinegar based bbq sause in the grocery so I used a bottle of that and some of the brining juice to cook it in... didnt even have to use extra seasonsing/spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States