Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved the recipe, but who has the space to put a ceramic bowl in their refrige that can hold a 3 or 4 pound pork shoulder? I've got food (and beer!) to keep cold! :D I kept the vinegar\water ratios in tack but chose a large (1 gal+) freezer bag to put the pork in. I then put that in a plastic trash bag as a "leak-proof" measure and tied it off in a knot...other than that, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Taylor
Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great recipe. I have shared it with a lot of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I tried this and had the same to much vinegar flavor. Ended having to through it out. When I went back over the recipe sure I had done something wrong, noticed what must be a miss print in #2. Was it suppose to read pour out brine leaving 2 inches in the bottom? This might have made a difference. Would like to try again making that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
very very strong vinegar taste. i'd cut down by 50% and try it again as it drowned out all of the other lovely spices. texture was good however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lattybunch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My family didn't like how this smelled while it was cooking, but LOVED it when it was ready to eat! It had a smell similar to Indian foods. I added Lucille's BBQ sauce to it and it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy B.
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I couldn't get past the overwhelming "tangy" flavor from the vinegar marinade and I love punches of flavor. It's an easy recipe and the seasoning on top was nice but I wouldn't make this again without major changes, starting first with the quantity of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I couldn't find a solid 3 lbs pork shoulder so I used steaks and it cooked a little fast. I set it to high until it boiled and reduced it to low and cut the cooking time in about half and it turned out great! adding bbq sauce upon serving and i'll be eating sandwiches for days. Also adding garlic, carrot, celery (mirepoix) and sachet d'epice with bay leaf, peppercorns, herbs, really helped give this dish a depth of flavor and I would recommend it. (search to find out defs on these french culinary terms)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made this for a Sunday afternoon get together and it was a major hit. I drained off most of the brining liquid and added a beer as some reviews mentioned. I also took the time to sear the outside of the roast with salt, pepper, and paprika before putting it into the crockpot. This really helped add some flavor and some texture to the meat. I added a tablespoon of Old Bay, a few cloves of diced garlic and an extra onion to the crock pot as well. One review mentioned boiling the remaining sauce down and adding a little brown sugar, which was a wonderful idea. It turned into a delicious homemade barbeque sauce with some extra tweaking. Finally, I made some cole slaw from the "Awesome Cole Slaw" recipe found on this site and served it with the meat on buns. It was seriously awesome. Eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
You should have seen the kids' faces when I told them we were having pulled pork with slop sauce for dinner. Slop sauce, what's that?! It has become a family favorite. This is really easy and comes out great. I make this every time pork roast goes on sale. I use apple cider vinegar and add a little more brown sugar and some cayenne pepper. Being from the South, I like the sweet heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made it exactly as written. It was spectacular! Tender, moist and awesome flavor. I fished the onions out and discarded. No BBQ sauce needed, in my opinion! I'm adding this to our family favorites! I think my pork roast was about 4#. It makes alot--I would estimate it serves 8 ppl at least. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States