Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very tender and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Ugh! Way too vinegary...wish I had listened to some of the negative reviews. I'm definitely a vinegar person - even put it into my chicken soup when I'm eating it, and my favorite barbecue sauce is the Kansas City style (vinegary). But when I take a bite of this, and if I inhale when I'm taking a bite, I feel the vinegar in my airways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Great recipe! We listened to a few reviews and changed the white vinegar to apple cider vinegar - a little bit more expensive but worth it!! We also used a bone-in pork shoulder as it was on sale at our local grocery store - terrific!! We brined the pork over night for 12hours and then removed as much liquid as recipe called for - then added about 1bottle of beer as the remaining liquid as suggested from other reviewers. Delicious! This is an easy, crowd pleasing, tasty recipe I recommend. We will definatley make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Excellent, just as it is with no adjustments. We used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce with it to make pulled pork sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Brined on Sat. Cooked on Sun. morning at 5:00 a.m. as I was heading out the door to participate in a cycling event. Still asleep? Probably since I screwed this one up by forgetting to add the brown sugar when I cooked the roast!! It was still very delicious and tasty. My husband commented on the "vinegary" taste, so I can't wait to tell him I forgot a key ingredient. In the brine I used 1/2 sparkling apple cider I wanted rid of and 1/2 white vinegar with the water. Prior to cooking I drained more than 1/2 the liquid and added one 12 oz. bottle of beer, which provided plenty of cooking liquid. In addition to the onion I added about 6 small cloves of garlic. Next time I'll drain all the cooking liquid to get rid of any residual salt, since that flavor was very evident to me (could also be because I forgot the brown sugar!). The meat literally fell of the bone. Very easy to shred and remove the fattier bits. The shredded meat went back into the cooker on a warm setting for "serve yourself" convenience. My roast was 2.75 lbs. There is PLENTY of meat left over for us to have lunch all week and then some. Would easily serve 10 people for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Holy white vinegar! This cleared the sinuses of the entire household. Even before tasting it the whole house smelled sour. Awful. I followed the recipe exactly, though, so am baffled as to how many cooks found this to be a good recipe. Had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I don't like vinegary food and was nervous after some of the reviews, but this is terrific and was a special request on a family vacation recently. I do make a couple changes. I use apple cider vinegar and a 6-7 lb. shoulder. You don't have to increase any of the other ingredients and since the pork takes up most of the space, you use less vinegar and it's not as tangy. Then I drain the vinegar to expose 1/2-1 inch and rub half the sugar mix on the pork and sprinkle the other half into the vinegar mixture for more even flavoring. Terrific, moist and easy to shred. You can eat it as is, with a little sweet bbq sauce or in eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Too vinegarrrry!! Easy recipe, but next time I would use a standard brine maybe mixed w/beer. The rub was good (added paparika for a little kick) and could be used on fish or chicken. Served w/ bbq sauce to cover the vinegar taste ontop garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved the recipe, but who has the space to put a ceramic bowl in their refrige that can hold a 3 or 4 pound pork shoulder? I've got food (and beer!) to keep cold! :D I kept the vinegar\water ratios in tack but chose a large (1 gal+) freezer bag to put the pork in. I then put that in a plastic trash bag as a "leak-proof" measure and tied it off in a knot...other than that, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Taylor
Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great recipe. I have shared it with a lot of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States