Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is good barbecue. I like St Louis, Memphis, East Carolina, South Carolina, western Carolina, TExas, you name it. I've learned to enjoy all flavors and you won't hear me whining about too much vinegar,too much mustard, etc. IF you don't like barbecue, don't eat it! Slow cooking pork is the way to go as far as I'm concerned. Only thing better is one of those roadside huts with the smoker out back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
To the reviewer who cooked the roast and then put it in the refrigerator to pull apart the next day, and then found it to be very fatty: you need to pull it apart while it is still warm, 15 or 20 minutes after you have taken it out of the slow cooker. That way it shreds easily and it is easy to separate the meat from the fat. The same principle is at work when you de-bone chicken. As soon as it is cool enough to handle, that's when it will slide right off the bone. Once it is cold, it is a different story alltogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marshame

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe produced a tender, juicy pulled pork. I was worried about the vinegar but it came out great! Add your favorite BBQ sauce when eating for customized flavor. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made it just as written and loved it! It reminded me of the pulled pork at Dixie Kitchen (in Chicago).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
The recipe is super simple to make. I made this recipe almost as directed. I used one less cup of vinegar after reading some of the comments; but I'm sure I could have used the proper 2:1 ratio as directed without a problem. I stopped my after 8.5hrs instead of going longer and it was falling off the bone; but I'm sure if I had gone another hour to hour and half it would have been even better. Regardless, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Big hit with the men in my family! making this for Superbowl Sunday. I aslo would recommend the beer when cooking and for me decreasing salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very tender and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Ugh! Way too vinegary...wish I had listened to some of the negative reviews. I'm definitely a vinegar person - even put it into my chicken soup when I'm eating it, and my favorite barbecue sauce is the Kansas City style (vinegary). But when I take a bite of this, and if I inhale when I'm taking a bite, I feel the vinegar in my airways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Great recipe! We listened to a few reviews and changed the white vinegar to apple cider vinegar - a little bit more expensive but worth it!! We also used a bone-in pork shoulder as it was on sale at our local grocery store - terrific!! We brined the pork over night for 12hours and then removed as much liquid as recipe called for - then added about 1bottle of beer as the remaining liquid as suggested from other reviewers. Delicious! This is an easy, crowd pleasing, tasty recipe I recommend. We will definatley make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Excellent, just as it is with no adjustments. We used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce with it to make pulled pork sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States