Slow Cooked Ham and Potato Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I had to change this up a bit - but used all the same ingredients. I started this stove top - melted the butter and sauteed the onions, a clove of garlic a diced carrot and a 2 stalks of celery (not called for in the recipe) added the flour and made a roux. I stirred and cooked that down, added chicken broth, instead of water and the chicken soup base. Added the corn, parsley, dill and celery seed and chicken soup. Then added the potatoes - brought to a simmer and then added it all to the slow cooker set on low. I would suggest dicing the potatoes fairly small and I think I would omit the chicken soup next time and use use some milk when I made the roux. This is rather salty with the ham, canned soup etc... be careful adding any extra salt. Overall we were very pleased with this soup, I would really just suggest changing the method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Made this last night and everyone loved it. I did have to change a few things. I was out of Cream of Chicken but had Cream of Potato also didnt use corn and didn't add any extra salt most of the ingredients had enough of there own. Just had the leftovers for lunch and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very good flavor and the right ingredients. No need to add salt as the ham has plenty. I would have liked the base to be thicker so next time I may take the top off the pot for the last hour or so. Served with toasted cheese sandwispches, my husband loved it and didn't detect it was a light recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
When I see a recipe that has corn in it or any particular vegetable that my husband would not like to see floating in his soup, all I do is puree the vegetable and add it to the rest of the soup. You can't see it in the soup and you still get the wonderful flavor without messing up the original recipe. - MI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I absolutely loved this! I really get tired of leftover ham. Ham is too salty for me to want day after day so I'm always looking for leftover ham recipes. This one hit the spot. My 3 year old ate it too so you know it's good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is a good recipe. I cut the potatoes quite small because I wanted to be sure that they were cooked really well. I cooked the soup for the full amount of time and the potatoes were definitely not overcooked. Next time I would cook it just a little bit longer. The addition of dill was excellent (we are fans of dill). This will go into my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was good but the seasoning was not my new favorite. I would make this again without the dill and celery seed, adding diced celery and maybe a different herb. I used healthy request cream of chicken soup and broth instead of the water/base combo. With those changes, I did not find this to be too salty. I cooked 6 hours on low and the white potatoes were just tender but not breaking down at all even though I cut them into 1/2 inch rather than 1 inch cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
A secret that I use to thicken my potato soup...use instant mashed potatoes. Adds flavor & thickens better than flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It was delicious. I have to eat low potassium and low or no sodium foods. I leached the potatoes, made my own cream of chicken from another recipe. I used frozen vegetables and added no salt, still goooooooood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
For a creamier soup add instant mashed potatoes towards the end of cooking. For more flavor start with crushed bacon and dripping instead of butter. Frozen hash brown potatoes can be substituted for a faster cooking soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States