Slow-Cooked Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I'm not from the South, but my late husband was, and this is THE BEST recipe I have found so far for green beans. Add potatoes half way through and fry some chicken in an iron skillet and there's your meal!! My 9 year old son and I thought they were AWESOME!! (And I'm from Chicago by the way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
So very, very good. I followed the recipe exactly and got rave reviews. It is time consuming but so worth it. I served it with herb roasted chicken and rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wanted to make green beans as I remember my Greek granny did; after watching Chef John's entertaining and educational video, and taking this wonderful chef's suggestion to use fresh tomatoes, I wasn't afraid to prepare this slow-cooked green bean recipe for the full two hours, but tried tasting beans at half hour intervals because I was skeptical. Granny didn't use bacon so I left that out this time. My family loves what jalapeño peppers do for flavor so I did slice a fresh one up and added it with the broth. I love Cremini mushrooms so I added 1/2 cup of fresh sliced, too. When two hours was up and there was the perfect amount of flavorful broth, I sprinkled 1/4 cup of crumbled feta on top. We had crusty multigrain bread so we sopped up the juices with that. I plan to prepare this dish with bacon and make cornbread, and leave out the mushrooms & feta for that one. (jalapeño will be delicious with Chef John's original version I feel), and will ALWAYS wait for the full two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
To heck with the green beans. The sauce is excellent!! I used my home canned V6 juice instead of tomato juice and, instead of cayenne, used smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Delicious! Used fresh tomatoes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Just like my Nana used to make! I made it exactly as written except for one thing: right at the end, I added a splash of red wine vinegar to brighten it up (I do this with my slow-cooked greens as well). You can't taste the vinegar, but it makes all of the rest of the flavors pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Amazing! Sauce is incredible! Can't wait to search what Chef John has to offer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was yummy! When hubby saw it cooking he said "That looks like the beans my mom used to make" The only thing I did different was I used fresh tomatoes peeled and seeded and run through the immersion blender. If I can use fresh I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Trap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Ahhhh maz ZING! I've been in search of a green bean recipe a next door neighbor used to always make and this is oh so close. I needed about 5 cups of chicken stock to cover my beans but other than that, made it exactly as directed and they turned out fantastic. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States