Slow-Cooked Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delish! You can never go wrong with Chef John! Didn't do the whole 2.5 hours only 1.5 due to time but still amazing! Next I might try throwing in some potatoes... Definitely going on my holiday cooking list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Just like my Nana used to make! I made it exactly as written except for one thing: right at the end, I added a splash of red wine vinegar to brighten it up (I do this with my slow-cooked greens as well). You can't taste the vinegar, but it makes all of the rest of the flavors pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was absolutely incredible. We followed the directions to the T. I will make this at least once a week moving forward. I have never had better green beans. Don't be hesitant about using tomato ... the taste is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
So very, very good. I followed the recipe exactly and got rave reviews. It is time consuming but so worth it. I served it with herb roasted chicken and rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I'm not from the South, but my late husband was, and this is THE BEST recipe I have found so far for green beans. Add potatoes half way through and fry some chicken in an iron skillet and there's your meal!! My 9 year old son and I thought they were AWESOME!! (And I'm from Chicago by the way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was the BEST green bean recipe I have ever tried! Have to admit I was somewhat skeptical of cooking time also. Not anymore! I made it for a B-B-Que we attended yesterday( doubled recipe) and used fresh green beans , tomatoes, and onions from my garden. People raved about this dish. Even people who normally don't like green beans went back for seconds!! I was asked several times for recipe . This is such a keeper!! Would give it more stars if I could! By the way, chef John is probably my favorite contributor! I love all his recipes, always right on for amount, taste, and quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Ahhhh maz ZING! I've been in search of a green bean recipe a next door neighbor used to always make and this is oh so close. I needed about 5 cups of chicken stock to cover my beans but other than that, made it exactly as directed and they turned out fantastic. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I just finished preparing this recipe. I cooked them for 90 minutes. Absolutely delicious! Served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gwynn Oak, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wanted to make green beans as I remember my Greek granny did; after watching Chef John's entertaining and educational video, and taking this wonderful chef's suggestion to use fresh tomatoes, I wasn't afraid to prepare this slow-cooked green bean recipe for the full two hours, but tried tasting beans at half hour intervals because I was skeptical. Granny didn't use bacon so I left that out this time. My family loves what jalapeño peppers do for flavor so I did slice a fresh one up and added it with the broth. I love Cremini mushrooms so I added 1/2 cup of fresh sliced, too. When two hours was up and there was the perfect amount of flavorful broth, I sprinkled 1/4 cup of crumbled feta on top. We had crusty multigrain bread so we sopped up the juices with that. I plan to prepare this dish with bacon and make cornbread, and leave out the mushrooms & feta for that one. (jalapeño will be delicious with Chef John's original version I feel), and will ALWAYS wait for the full two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrangW
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Good recipe-- I did without tomatoes cause I didn't have it and not sure if I wanted to add tomatoes with it. I would leave out the salt or add less next time... hubbie said it was a bit salty. I don't tend to salt my food when cooking so it may be we are not use to it be salty. I used crush flake peppers instead of cayenne. Served it with some meatloaf and it was a hit with the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States