Slow-Cooked Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I was in a hurry so I steamed the green beans as. I sautéed the bacon, then added the onions and garlic. I mixed in a small amount of marinara sauce. Then added the cooked beans. I didn't need the broth and forgot the cayenne or paprika. It was still awesome. Next time I'll try it the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I DIDN'T HAVE 2 LBS OF GREEN BEANS, SO I CUT THE RECIPE IN 1/2. USED 1/2 ONION THE SAME AMOUNT OF GARLIC AND CAYENNE. A FRESH TOMATO HALF OF THE BROTH,ETC. IT WAS WONDERFUL! WORTH THE WAIT! I USED ONLY 3 STRIPS OF BACON BUT THE SMOKINESS AND FLAVOR OF THE BACON REALLY SHINES THROUGH! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is much the way my grandmother cooked green beans, minus the tomato sauce and using ham instead of bacon and cooked for about 45 minutes. It was a revelation to them when I cooked green beans for 10-12 min. and they could actually taste the beans. I'm from the North and I think green beans should be minimally cooked to preserve their taste and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
What a wonderful way to cook my garden beans! The only change I made was to use a handful of bacon bits in some olive oil, as I didn't have fresh bacon on hand. Otherwise followed Chef John's video exactly. Hubby says this is the only green bean recipe we need from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Love, love, love! 5 stars all the way! Chef John, will you marry me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I would have given it a 100 if I could have!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was yummy! When hubby saw it cooking he said "That looks like the beans my mom used to make" The only thing I did different was I used fresh tomatoes peeled and seeded and run through the immersion blender. If I can use fresh I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Trap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Delicious! Used fresh tomatoes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Amazing! Sauce is incredible! Can't wait to search what Chef John has to offer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States