Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This came out well, no major issues with the cooking. However, flavor was off. Way too sweet, not enough flavor depth, perhaps decreasing the sweetness woud change this? Between the chili sauce and brown sugar it was just to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this just as written and they were good. Next time I will totally skip the flouring/browning in the skillet step because this just made an additional mess and the soggy coating was not pleasant to look at in the final dish. It might add a tad more flavor BUT the flour in the final step was plenty for us. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was very good, served it with spaetzel. be sure to skim top to remove excess fat. Pot was empty, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was very easy to make and was happy with the way it came out. I used the crockpot and i doubled the sauce like everyone suggested. I put extra beef broth in too. I was so afraid to make it because it was my first time making short ribs and it was for christmas eve dinner for about 20 people. But everyone that it was great and i was so happy at the end. my only suggestion would be to buy short ribs with out the bone just made things a little easier. i did not know the difference until afterward. Very easy to a make and tasted delicious would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IKARIA17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I bought short ribs at the store on sale. I had no idea what I would make. I found this recipe. Wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Meat tasted fine, but it was very greasy and fatty. This one was a bit disappointing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaddiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great meal after skiing! I substituted Chinese sweet chili sauce for the chili sauce. It had a nice zing and I didn't have to run to the store. Used my handy stick mixer to finish the gravy in the crock pot, Thick and yummy. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
ok, this was a really good recipe - I have to admit though that I am not a fan of short-ribs. Too much fat for my taste; I like my meat a lot leaner. I did enjoy the flavors of the sauce and the meat was tender. I will not make again, but the recipe did a great job with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are fabulous!! My picky husband requested them for our Christmas Eve meal, in place of my ham which he really loves. They had a great hint of spice/heat that really made them delicious. I only made 1.5 lbs of ribs but still made the same amount of sauce and was glad that I did. We'll make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
didn't love this recipe but i think it was because i'm not a fan of beef short ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States