Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Thank you for giving us this incredible recipe. Next time, I will double it so I can have some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I give this stars because the flavor is really yummy, but it reminded us why we don't make beef ribs...they are a lot of work for little meat. That was the only problem with this recipe. There was so much fat in the pot and not much meat! I cooled the sauce and scooped out as much fat as I could before adding the flour. Again, great flavor so we are going to try this again, but with a roast instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
YUM! Next time I'll make it with a beef roast and double the sauce and add veggies. Has that great German sweet and sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I liked the sauce on the finished product but my husband didn't care for it. I wouldn't make again. I just have not had succes with how fatty short ribs are. It seems like they are mostly fat and not enough meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
In lieu of chili sauce & brown sugar, I used the sweet chili sauce which you can find in the Asian food section of the grocery store. Loved this tasty recipe ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I tried this last weekend and it was soooo good! My husband was very reluctant as they were cooking but was raving on his first bite. It was easy and the crockpot made it even easier. I just pan seared them and transferred to the crockpot from there and they cooked for about 7hrs. I totally recommend this recipe. Oh I used chili garlic sauce instead of just chili sauce and it gave it the perfect kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. Neither did my family. I used exact ingredients but the flavors just didn't seem to blend. Maybe it is an acquired taste. Just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan Center, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was great tasting & easy my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
2 hours on high, 4 on low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was excellent. I doubled the sauce as others suggested. The only change I would make next time is to use less sugar, as it was a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States