Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Good recipes. Not as good as I thought it would be, figuring the amount of people that have saved and rated this recipe. I did add some baby red potatoes to my crock pot half way thru the cooking process. They turned out perfect. Would make this recipe again, unless I find a better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
We are in the middle of moving, so I wanted to use ingredients on hand. Slight misread for browning: half EVOO, half butter. Used red wine vinegar and Dijon instead of plain vinegar & dry mustard. OK, maybe a little more Merlot than needed. Based on other reviews, reduced brown sugar to 2 Tbsp & beef broth for water. High for the 1st 90 minutes then switched to low. The results were...AMAZING! My husband demanded this become part of our Favorites Recipe Book. The bones fell right off and the meat melted on your tongue. I DID have to spoon off a good amount of fat before thickening the sauce & will maybe do the day before as one review advised. We served it over mashed potatoes but egg noodles or rice are in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I tried this last night. It was super easy to put together, and in two hours a great aroma filled the house. My only complaint would be the vinegar. It completely over powered the sauce. My husband tried using bbq sauce to cover it, but it still had a sour wang to it. I will try it again omitting the vinegar completely. The meat was soo tender, it deserves a second chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These just weren't that good. Not much flavor when the recipe is followed the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is my go to recipe for short ribs.. truly spectacular! I have also substituted honey for the brown sugar because my niece has an allergy..still wonderful! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I've made this several different times in several different ways and it is a delicious crowd-pleaser every time. For those who prefer a milder sauce, I omitted the chile powder. I also turned it into a hearty stew by tripling the sauce ingredients and adding some par-boiled potatoes and carrots halfway through the cooking cycle. I also added an additional splash or two of the red wine when thickening the sauce to give it an even richer flavor. All in all one of the best (and most versatile) recipes of this type I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Pretty good! Nice sauce. Not outstanding, but made a very nice dinner. I didn't have any chili sauce so I used ketchup, nor did I have red wine so I used beef broth. I subbed the sugar for maple syrup and doubled the sauce. I did not see the need to thicken the sauce at the end with the flour and water. * hours on low was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I made a number of changes to this recipe, but my result was definitely 5 star! I had some beautiful boneless pork ribs from Costco that weren’t fatty at all – really quite lean – so I had no problems with excessive greasiness. I skipped the flour and just seasoned my ribs with S&P and browned them. I deglazed the pan with the red wine and scraped up all the browned bits before adding it to the crock pot. I doubled the sauce as suggested by others, but cut back on the brown sugar and vinegar. Instead of regular onion I used pearl onions. And finally, I skipped the flour/water and just thickened my sauce with a little cornstarch mixed with cold water instead. I cooked mine on low for the full 8 hours and it was fork tender. I served this over white rice and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Thank you for giving us this incredible recipe. Next time, I will double it so I can have some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I give this stars because the flavor is really yummy, but it reminded us why we don't make beef ribs...they are a lot of work for little meat. That was the only problem with this recipe. There was so much fat in the pot and not much meat! I cooled the sauce and scooped out as much fat as I could before adding the flour. Again, great flavor so we are going to try this again, but with a roast instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States