Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Amazing! Careful with the sugar or it will taste too sweet. I eyeballed the sugar and I think I put in a bit too much. Still, best ribs in a slow cooker I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
FANTASTIC! I used Sriracha instead of chili sauce...only used half the amount total even though I doubled the liquids and spices to make more gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This was delicious and makes a wonderful gravy to go on smashed potatoes!!! I used all the ingredients as listed except I cooked it in a dutch oven on 300 for about an hour and a half. The meat was falling off the bones, but still had some chewiness that I like. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I have made this several times and it is one of my favorites. The only thing I changed was instead of the wine I used beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Tried this recipe the first time and my friends and family loved it! Since then I've tried several changes, and found some good regular things to do to keep the awesomeness flowing. I found you can basically use any type of rib or amount as long as it fits in the slow cooker without changing the sauce recipe. I've done 3 to 15 pounds of bone-in and boneless short ribs, country style ribs, and spare ribs. Generally I use a chianti for the rich, fruity flavor it gives, as well as the dryness of it. I did substitute red wine vinegar once which made it too dry in my opinion, but everyone else loved it. I add a quarter of a cup of Tabasco or some other type of hot sauce as well. This gives it a kick without destroying the sweetness. It can build the heat up a lot though. Probably my favorite thing to make on a cold fall day, and definitely the most requested meal I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was not a big fan, but the family seemed to like it, and the dogs loved the bones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very easy & good. I think I would use less vinegar next time as some other reviewed suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe!!! Made this last night for dinner. Used Almond Flour because my friend is gluten intolerant. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Use this recipe to bribe the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Excellent flavor! Out of the ordinary, but not weird. Unfortunately I used very lean boneless short ribs and I had to shred the meat so it wouldn't be so dry. Next time I think I will probably try a chuck roast with this recipe. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States