Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I followed some other reviewers and cut back brown sugar, doubled the sauce, and left out the vinegar. I also did not have chili sauce so I combined ketchup, hot sauce, and a little garlic sauce. I made them the night before, let sit in the fridge, then skimmed fat off the top and reheated for dinner the following day. I did not have to add the flour/water mixture to the sauce, I thought it was thick enough as-is, and perfect for scooping over mashed potatoes. I have a few more packs of short ribs in the freezer and I will definately be using this recipe again. They were fall-apart tender and the flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great recipe, but we didn't care for the cut of meat (beef short ribs). Too fatty. We will try this recipe again with a different cut of meat and I am sure it will be a much more complimentary outcome for this very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for the first time yesterday. If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would!. My husband said that it was "restaurant quality." A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Longo Serrone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great recipe. I used boneless ribs and added about 1 T of garlic powder. Great fall meal and will definately make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I used boneless ribs and followed the recipe. Very good flavor, however I found the sauce a little on the sweet side, so I will either reduce sugar, or increase vinegar next time. The ribs were also completely done in 5 hours. Very good recipe, thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These are a huge hit every time I make them. If I’m out of red wine, I just substitute red wine vinegar for the total amount of wine & vinegar. Oftentimes I skip thickening the sauce at the end because they are so good you really don’t need any sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Maybe this would be good if cooked for 6 hours, but I cooked it for 8 hours and it was SEVERELY OVERDONE. Meat was dried out and rather hard. A big disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was really amazing, but too spicy for my typically spicy-loving husband. I used Siracaha hot chili sauce and i can only assume from other reviews that complain of too much sweetness that they are using a sweet chili sauce. The bone-in short ribs fell off the bone. YUM. Changes we made: we seasoned the meat with salt and pepper only before browning on the grill for about 20 minutes on low heat with hickory smoke. We added a small green pepper to the sauce, and subbed more wine for the water the recipe calls for. I would give it five stars, but I love super-spicy food. We'll make this again, but cut the sriracha hot chili sauce a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJaye2010
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Very good! Melts in your mouth and chock full of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJaye2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Pretty good. Nice flavor, but we still ate them with Montgomery Inn BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States