Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
On a whim I bought a couple of pounds of bone in goat chunks, I believe my first time for goat. I could not find an interesting recipe for goat so I chose this highly rated recipe since the goat chunks looked just like short ribs. It turned out great. Goat has a very nice delicate flavor. The sauce is most excellent and has very complex flavors. I left the meat in the crock pot and thickened the sauce on the stove top since my crock pot is sort of weak on heat. THANKS FOR SHARING !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Great recipe! Too bad no one is following it! haha... It calls for half-cup of Chile Sauce. Making the final product s.p.i.c.e.y!!!!! Tastes great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Almost a 5! My daughter had seconds a couple of hours after eating this. She said she would loved it more if the sugar were cut down. We had it with mashed potatoes but daughter and husband agreed to have it rice the next time. Though, I didn't have a problem with it. We used sirachabsauce instead of chiliband also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Meat was very sweet. We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We love this recipe, deliciously German. Serve it over egg noodles. We use Sriracha hot sauce, and 1/2 the amount. But, we double the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this on an ice cold New England Sunday. It came out great. I used 4 lbs of short ribs and upped everything a bit and doubled the red wine. My ending sauce was fairly thick and I considered not using the final flour and water mix. In hindsight I would have been right but it still came out fine. Next time no flour :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We really liked this recipe. Added more of the liquids in proportion to cover the ribs more completely. Sauce had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Always a hit at our house. We double the sauce, and use half bone-in, half without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Super yummy, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SHA88
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We really liked this recipe. I did roast in oven (3 hrs at 300) instead of slow cooker because I had a great new pot I wanted to try. At the end when I removed the ribs, I placed the liquid in a separator to get extra fat out and then made gravy. So very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States