Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe. I used boneless short ribs, approx 2 pounds. I used 1/2 hot chili sauce and 1/2 ketchup for the 1/2 cup chili sauce. It was greasy as stated by others but the sauce is delicious! I also used Tisdale Cabernet and the wine was about 8.00 a bottle. My bf really really enjoyed this recipe! This also makes for a great sauce for stew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My husband and I love this recipe. After making it several times with the beef short ribs our only complaint was that the meat was too fatty. Today we decided to try it with trimmed, boneless pork ribs. Now we like this recipe even more! The sauce and meat had much less fat and the flavor was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
taste better then it smelled ! idid in crock on hihgh for 4 hrs . I used westeren style ribs . these cooked a little dry ,but They still had a unusual but good flavor . 3 kids 5-12 didn't like at all by the end. I didn't have chili sauce though . next time I will add chili sauce to see if that tightens the flavor . will try again some time . came close with kids . they like first couple of bites the taste was to stong for them ,maybe the wine ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Guess I should have known better. Was not expecting sweet & sour bbq. Ribs were tender, sauce was just waaay too SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
These are the best short ribs I have ever had and the sauce is delightful. I make this a lot for company and always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hachita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Too sweet and greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Delicious...made pretty much as written EXCEPT I made it with chuck roast instead of short ribs (wanted to save some money). I also used a dutch oven -- 325 for 3 hours -- because I don't have a slow cooker. Everyone loved it, even my 4 year old. Served with German potato salad and sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
We enjoyed the flavor of these. I made this as directed but opted not to brown the ribs first to save time. I served these over mashed potatoes. My only complaint is that this didn't make 6 servings. It was closer to 3, but then again maybe my ribs were just really fatty. I would make this again if I found a really good deal on short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
my husband and i just devoured these with wild and happy abandon! Will do again gladly. 1TB brown sugar was enough for us. next time will use a hotter chilie powder. also didn't need to double sauce but added 7oz. of beef broth and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Excellent. My only variation from the recipe was to double the sauce. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States