Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Absolutely excellent, and I didn't have to change a single thing in the recipe! The meat was outrageously expensive for what you ended up with but, other than what is out of the cook's control, I would definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!! I did however, use a sirloin tip roast instead of the short ribs. I didn't change anything else and it came out GREAT. The second time i made it, I doubled the sauce. I could drink that stuff. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlon harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This was WONDERFUL! I didn't have short ribs but did have sirloin steak, so I cut 4 steaks into serving-sized pieces and used that. Having read many reviews, I doubled the sauce (used 1/4 c. vinegar & 1/4 c. brown sugar for the doubled sauce--less than the recipe called for), & used white wine, since it was what I had. Also used 3/4 c. ketchup & 1/4 c. sriracha instead of chile sauce (next time will use less sriracha--too hot!). For this amount of meat, I could have tripled the sauce & will in the future. Cooked it 6 hours on low. The steaks were fairly tender, but may try longer next time. Served it over mashed potatoes. Mmm-mmm-mmm was it good anyway! My husband like it as well. I will be making it again soon. Thanks for a great and flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
These brown up beautifully in the slow cooker without the added fat and flour of browning. Also, used 2 tbsp cornstarch, 100 ml more of red wine mixed with 100 ml of water for thickening at the end. Probably lightened this up by a few hundred calories. Excellent, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Super recipe! The aroma while it cooked made it really hard to wait for dinner. I followed the recipe exactly except for the chili sauce, which I didn't have. I used a small can of tomato sauce and about 1/4 cup of leftover enchilada sauce and squirted in a little sriracha sauce. I also had 4 lb. of meat. There was plenty of sauce to pour over the meat and the egg noodles. We're having the leftovers tonight with spatzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
VERY intriguing flavor! However, I seldom use short ribs because of the fat, however, I prefer to fix exactly first time to review, then I try with any changes I want to incorporate. This was spicier than we like, as a rule, but the next time I used less. I also had to deal with too much fat, prior to thickening. To avoid this, I used an in-bone chuck roast (small) the second time I made this, & it was perfect. A little sweetish (which was what really intrigued me in the first place), as well as spicy too! I felt the sauce really complimented the meat. Served with mashed potatoes (was thinking of Garlic Mashed, but was afraid favors wouldn't mesh, & acorn squash (from A/R site). I was proud to have served such an "over the top" appearing comfort food meal!!! HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I have been getting your magazine for at least 3 years in the mail, why do you keep trying to sell me another copy I don't need another copy . I pay for it every year but I can't get the pro version of your recipts{meal Planning } Love your cooks books and website but it has gotten harder to use ?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Pressley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe!! We used beef "country ribs" and they were really good! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Excellent! I didn't have chili sauce so I used Asian chili and garlic sauce. It really spiced it up. We served the gravy with polenta. This recipe deserves a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daryl Spillmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Best ever short ribs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States