Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
My family loves this. I've used several different types of beer and it always comes out great. Definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Kids weren't crazy about it but I loved it!!! Served with cabbage and cornbread. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I just made this, cut recipe in half. Only 2 of us. It is excellent, tender and makes the best sandwich. I would highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Keveryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Amazing. Used 'Better Than Bouillon' beef broth to water as suggested. And beer. Can't wait for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Never cooked corn beef before. Followed recipe exactly. First time tried to cut after ten minutes didn't slice well. Took the advice from other reviews and wrapped the meat in aluminum foil and put in the fridge overnight. Sliced perfect the next day. This was a hit, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Being from Cleveland I am a huge fan of corned beef. I have tried many recipe versions, mixing this spice with that beer and this cooking method with that cooking method. All produced acceptable corned beef, but nothing reminiscent of that taste I get from back home. When I saw this simple recipe with all the peppercorns and garlic cloves, color me dubious at best. As the hours ticked by (I used my crockpot), curiosity got the best of me and I tasted the pot liquor from the brisket. Immediately I was impressed by the flavor. About the 8 hour mark, my fork test passed so I turned off the crock-pot and allowed the brisket to sit in the liquid for about another hour or so. I then removed the brisket and put it in the fridge to cool. The next day I broke out my meat slicer and sliced the cooled brisket thin against the grain. I had reserved the cooking liquid and defatted it, thinking the brisket may need extra juice – wrong. When the meat was gently warmed it gave off enough liquid so my slices and sandwiches were very juicy. I used one bottle of Guinness Stout, one brisket – about 3.5 pounds, 1/8 C cup of peppercorns, half of a bulb of garlic -about 10 cloves, and I did use the entire spice packet from the brisket. Everything else was prepared to recipe. Perfect. I am no longer looking for the best recipe. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made the recipe exactly as written, except i used my slow cooker. This was by far the BEST corned beef I've ever made or eaten! I put everything in my slow cooker at 6am and by 6pm I was slicing the most flavorful, moist corned beef ever! I'm 1/2 Irish and make corned beef every year. I wish I would have found this recipe a long time ago. It will definitely be my go to recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Perfect just as written! I've made this recipe many times and my family loves it! I cook it in the slow cooker and add veggies towards the end. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made this tonight. I used the Guinness North American brew. For my beer came out great. This will be my go to sandwich for a long while. So easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I made this tonite and it was a smash hit. Words cannot express just how yummy it was. The only thing that I added was a half more bulb of garlic (the bulbs were small), and since I made 8 lbs in a roaster oven, I added a regular size can of beef broth to make sure I had enough liquid. It was so good and it melted in our mouths! The seasonings and beer were perfect in this recipe. I sliced up the brisket and made some hearty reuben sandwiches.Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I had saved it for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States