Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Save yourself reading through 100+ reviews and stop your search for a corned beef recipe. This is flawless. Prepare it exactly as directed, and make it easy on yourself by allowing a Crock Pot to do all the work for you. Eight to ten hours later, you'll have tender and flavorful corned beef for however you choose to serve it. Perfection needn't be tinkered with! Just be sure to slice it against the grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
976 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made the corned beef (using Guinness) exactly as written and cooked it for 6 hours on the stove top. I then removed the meat (which fell apart) and added 3 pounds quartered new potatoes, 2 pounds baby carrots (cut in half) and an onion. I let that cook for 20 minutes and then added a head of cabbage. I cooked an additional 15 minutes. Then I removed the veggies and made a gravy out of the leftover stock using a slurry of stock and corn starch. This recipe was a huge hit last night for our St. Patrick's Day get together. Very authentic tasting and the peppercorns get soft as they cook, so when you bite into one, you get a nice kick without being overly powerful or chipping your teeth. This will be our annual tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
467 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Wish there were more than 5 stars because this recipe deserves a 10. Wife was in the hospital and I was fending for myself when I tried this. Put 2 briskets in the crockpot and headed off to work. Stopped at the deli and got some cole slaw and Swiss cheese on the way home from work, and ended up wishing I had cooked twice as much. Took a couple of BIG sandwiches to work the next day, and my coworkers forced me to share once they got a whiff. Kept asking the name of the deli where I bought it, and couldn't believe I made it myself. Well, here are your 10 stars from me and my office * * * * * * * * * *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
451 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
The amount of peppercorns listed in the ingredients has been changed from 1/4 teaspoon to 1/4 cup, at the request of the recipe submitter. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was so easy and delicious! I used both spice packets that came with the briskets and put everything into a slow cooker set on low for 10 hours. The liquid remains red because of the nature of corned beef -- this does not mean it's not cooked. It is done when it is fork-tender. I also poured the leftover cooking liquid into a pot on the stovetop and boiled cabbage in it; it gave the cabbage really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Wowee! Very very good. I threw everything in the crockpot before work, when I came home we had an awesome meal. I'm thinking I'll never just boil another slab of corned beef in water again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Was happily surprised by this recipe! It was very easy to perpare when you pop it all in the crock pot and just let it go all day. We ended up cooking it about 10 hours, and it was so tender, easy to shred for sandwiches. Not extremely salty, the way I usually think brisket tastes. We toasted the rolls, added swiss cheese and home made thousand island dressing from this site--Delicious! Will definitely be going to this one a lot through the colder months especially. Glad we did 2 briskets, cause one certainly would not have been enough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
My husband likes to eat, but it is hard to get him to critiqe anything I make. I always get "its fine" or "its Ok". Well, this corned beef made him mutter a few expletives while going "Oh my God! " Case closed, perfect recipie! *Hint: Used Dundees Honey blond beer, gave it a good flavor!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I've made this twice now and followed the recipe to a "T". This is one of the few things in life that I want to continue to eat long after I'm full. It is THAT good! We'll never have "plain ol'" corned beef in our house again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Prepared it in the morning before work. Took about 3 minutes to throw everything in and turn it on. When I got home that night, I realized I didn't have any bread, so we used tortillas instead. Wrapped in tortillas tasted delicious. Used the remaining liquid to boil some cabbage and carrots over the stove. That took an additional 30 minutes. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States