Slow Cooked Chipotle Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was excellent. I sautéed the onions in 3 tbs of butter instead of oil and added 5 cloves of crushed garlic instead of 2. I also used 3 chipotle peppers instead of 2. The result was a delicious, spicy, creamy sauce like no other sauce I've ever made before. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this chicken recipe last night and it was absolutely delicious. First of all to get it out of the way: The recipe calls for 2 individual peppers - not 2 cans of peppers. I love chipotles, so I used 3 whole peppers along with a little extra adobo sauce and the spiciness was on point. I subbed non fat greek yogurt for the sour cream, and next time I think I will also substitute low fat cream cheese instead of full fat. I was able to throw this all in the crock pot during my lunch break and cooked it on low for 5.5 hours. So yummy and easy. I definitely think you can add whatever you want to the chicken, I know I will be adding some roasted corn when I have it over cauliflower rice next time... along with cilantro. Gotta have some of that in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Thankfully some reviewers cleared that up about just 2 peppers out of a can of chipotle chili sauce that's listed in recipe. I would have been one of those cooks that would have added 2 cans!!! Whew! Anyway, this is what I ended up doing: I had some leftover rott. chicken so I shredded it and coated it with some Mrs. Dash Chipotle Seasoning, added the "1" pepper with some sauce, mixed it all up good and put in the crockpot. Laid the sliced onions and diced garlic on top. Instead of the water and chicken bouillon powder I heated up some rich chicken broth I had on hand (I forgot to follow directions about adding the pepper, onion and garlic and then blending...will do this next time!)and poured over chicken mixture. Cooked on low around 3 hours. Served this with corn chips, sour cream and salsa. Believe me, this was delicious. Of course I plan to make according to recipe next time but honestly I don't see how it could taste any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
jennbo your problem was adding 2 cans, the recipe calls for only 2 peppers from the can. Hope this helps you. I use chipotle all the time and it is a delicious flavor to anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Even a dot of the sauce was way too hot for me. So now I know for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
LOVED THIS FLAVOR! Easy crockpot recipe...I maybe would add only one chipotle chili next time...it was pretty spicy but absolute delicious! Served with white rice and, lettuce, fresh tomato and avocado slices. Very pretty dish! Thank you Mazola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
We eat a lot of chicken, but this is in our top 5 favorite main dish chicken recipes! The flavors in the sauce were perfect (creamy with a little kick…). The recipe involves little prep work, so it's great for a yummy weeknight dinner. I served this with warm flour tortillas, but it would also be great over mashed potatoes or rice. Thank you, Mazola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
It must have been me but this dish was so spicy it was inedible. I love spicy food too. two cans of mild chipotle in adobo? I wonder what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlanaKadas
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This recipe was SO good and realllly easy! I skipped out on using the food processor to make it even easier and to save dishes and it still turned out wonderfully! I'm adding this to my usual list of meals to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlanaKadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Slow cooker simplicity, and a delicious sauce! This is a FABULOUS RECIPE!!! MMMMM, MMMMM, MAZOLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States