Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made only a few minor modifcations to this recipe. I added corn and green chilis. For the tomato sauce, I used a spicy basil marinara. The chili was fantastic...very easy recipe. The house smelled terrific. Great with some green chili cheese cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIRENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Outstanding. Very flavorful. I added a tablespoon of cumin to the recipe, but I don't think it really needs anything else. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was really good. The smell made everyone eager to try it, and the whole family loved it! hubby already asked, "When are you making this again?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
The recipe needed just a little bit more flavor, so I added some jalapenos. Otherwise, the chili turned out really great and was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Delicious!!! I made this chili this past weekend for family. They all loved it too, they even asked to take home the leftovers. Making another pot this week because hubby and I only tasted it. I also added a can of corn. It added flavor and color. Thanks for thos easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
First, I have to admit that I changed somethings about this recipe. Not the least of which was the ground beef. We do not eat red meat, so I made this with ground turkey. When I browned the turkey, I added cumin and garlic salt - as some had suggested the flavor was bland. I did not have any greeen peppers, but I did have the diced tomatoes & green pepper canned so I used that. I also used a chili ready tomato sauce which had added seasonings. To give it a flavor boost, I added about a half teaspoon of crushed red pepper. The end result was pretty good. However, it seemed a little bit dry. The recipe called for one 8 oz can of tomato sauce and I used about 2/3 of a 15oz can. Next time I will use the whole can. One other somewhat important aspect was that the mixture filled my crockpot to the top and I had a tough time blending it all in because it was so full. It would probably be easier to mix it in something first and then add to the crock pot. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe! I did add corn. Served it as a salad with nacho chips, guacamole and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I had to add more spices. Just the Chili powder isn't enough to give it that "chili kick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Excellent and easy. I use Pato tomato sauce instead of tomato sauce for an extra kick. I also use 1 can of pinto beans instead of kidney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I wish I could give this more stars. We don't use meat so I used vegetarian crumbles. I made it twice in one week, and already have requests to make it again. The meat eaters never knew the difference! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States