Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I recomend this for beginners This Was My First Atempt for Chilli..and it came out really well , wasnt too spicy. The recipe called for 2 tablespoons chilli powder , I used three to give it more of a chilli flavor. served on side as Optional Additives : shredded cheese and Sour Cream, Mustard and Oyster Crackers. my kids loved it and ate left overs the next day =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pilar918

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was soooo good. I didn't have a can of tomato sauce, so I used 1/2 of the basil tomato jar sauce. didn't have a can of diced tomato, so I diced up a fresh tomato. I cooked the onion added the beef and some frozen minced garlic I had, then followed the rest of the directions. Eat it with brown rice and shredded cheddar, colby, jack cheese. I can't stop eating it and my husband loves it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this for a potluck and it's very good for those that don't like spice but I prefer mine more spicy. Next time I'll add some cayenne and maybe some jalapenos as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this was really easy to make and i had it in the crock pot all day. it turned out great. since it was a little spicier, i served it with sour cream and tortilla chips. other than that followed the recipe exactly. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Tasted very gritty. This was the first recipe from allrecipes that was not up to par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
So yummy, warm, and cozy on a cold night. I am don't eat dairy right now, so no cheese or sour cream and it is still fantastic! It has just the right spicy kick to it. Love it! SO easy, too! I used ground turkey instead of beef and one can of dark kidney beans and one can of light kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Maddox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The best chili recipe, ever. I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles (it was all I had in the house) and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Remson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great simple chilli recipe. I altered amounts to feed 4 and ended up using 1tsp of chilli powder, 1tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp of paprika, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 salt and 1tbsp of worcestshire sauce. I also popped the onions in the pan when browning off the mince. Turned out great, kids enjoyed as it was not too spicy but still had a little kick. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
The seasoning is way off in this recipe. 2 pounds of meat and only 2 tsp salt? I always watch my salt and compensate with other seasonings but this definitely needed twice or 3 times the salt. I also used a lot more chili powder and cumin because without the additional seasonings this chili would be extremely bland. I even added jalapenos, a small cayenne pepper and green and red peppers for flavor and still, I had to keep adding spices. This recipe is very base (use it and add on it like I did) and bland and for someone who does not like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Ok, I changed alot of stuff but this recipe was THE BEST chili recipe I have ever had. I made it vegetarian by using black bean burgers as the meat base. I added a can of pinto beans and black beans. I only used one can of kidney beans and one can of diced tomatoes. I added one more Tbl of chili powder, 1/2 Tbl of cumin, dashes or paprika, oregano, garlic and onion powder and 2 Tbl worcestershire sauce. I then added enough water to my desired thickness and simmered on the stovetop for 2 hours. Thank you so much for a recipe that was a good base but that I could also change and make it my own. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States