Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I recomend this for beginners This Was My First Atempt for Chilli..and it came out really well , wasnt too spicy. The recipe called for 2 tablespoons chilli powder , I used three to give it more of a chilli flavor. served on side as Optional Additives : shredded cheese and Sour Cream, Mustard and Oyster Crackers. my kids loved it and ate left overs the next day =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pilar918

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was soooo good. I didn't have a can of tomato sauce, so I used 1/2 of the basil tomato jar sauce. didn't have a can of diced tomato, so I diced up a fresh tomato. I cooked the onion added the beef and some frozen minced garlic I had, then followed the rest of the directions. Eat it with brown rice and shredded cheddar, colby, jack cheese. I can't stop eating it and my husband loves it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this for a potluck and it's very good for those that don't like spice but I prefer mine more spicy. Next time I'll add some cayenne and maybe some jalapenos as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this was really easy to make and i had it in the crock pot all day. it turned out great. since it was a little spicier, i served it with sour cream and tortilla chips. other than that followed the recipe exactly. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Tasted very gritty. This was the first recipe from allrecipes that was not up to par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
So yummy, warm, and cozy on a cold night. I am don't eat dairy right now, so no cheese or sour cream and it is still fantastic! It has just the right spicy kick to it. Love it! SO easy, too! I used ground turkey instead of beef and one can of dark kidney beans and one can of light kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Maddox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The best chili recipe, ever. I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles (it was all I had in the house) and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Remson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great simple chilli recipe. I altered amounts to feed 4 and ended up using 1tsp of chilli powder, 1tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp of paprika, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 salt and 1tbsp of worcestshire sauce. I also popped the onions in the pan when browning off the mince. Turned out great, kids enjoyed as it was not too spicy but still had a little kick. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
The seasoning is way off in this recipe. 2 pounds of meat and only 2 tsp salt? I always watch my salt and compensate with other seasonings but this definitely needed twice or 3 times the salt. I also used a lot more chili powder and cumin because without the additional seasonings this chili would be extremely bland. I even added jalapenos, a small cayenne pepper and green and red peppers for flavor and still, I had to keep adding spices. This recipe is very base (use it and add on it like I did) and bland and for someone who does not like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Ok, I changed alot of stuff but this recipe was THE BEST chili recipe I have ever had. I made it vegetarian by using black bean burgers as the meat base. I added a can of pinto beans and black beans. I only used one can of kidney beans and one can of diced tomatoes. I added one more Tbl of chili powder, 1/2 Tbl of cumin, dashes or paprika, oregano, garlic and onion powder and 2 Tbl worcestershire sauce. I then added enough water to my desired thickness and simmered on the stovetop for 2 hours. Thank you so much for a recipe that was a good base but that I could also change and make it my own. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States