Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Great chili recipe. Next time I would add a little more spice though. No matter how much cayenne pepper or paprika I added, it was never spicy enough. Still very good. The cheddar cheese at the end really sealed the deal for this chili. My household doesn't eat that much chili but for those that did, they enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trinnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I halved the recipe and added 1-2 Tbsp. of BBQ sauce to give it a little more of a smokey flavor. Tastes a lot better with this added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is an awesome chili recipe! I used Fresh anaheim peppers, and jalepenos. 3 of each I roasted them first before putting them in. I skinned and seeded them and chopped then up. I also added about a tablespoon of cumin. I cooked it on high for 4 hours, and low for 2. It came out amazing! My boyfriend still asks me to make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very, very good! I used diced tomatoes with jalapeños, two cans of kidney beans and doubles the chili powder. No bell peppers because, in my opinion, they are not food. This was boost spicy at all. As a side we had honey cornbread. Everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My husband is always asking me to make this chili. It's the only chili recipe I've ever attempted and I don't need to look any further. It's the best. I don't change the recipe much at all, just to suit my taste. I only use 1 onion and I add a can of black beans. I also add an extra green pepper. It's so simple and smells soooo good while it's cooking. Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilybill

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Was very good, great consistancy but not enough kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This gets three stars for ease of preparation. For taste, it's a 2 star recipe at best. This was VERY bland. I always try recipes as written first and rate them as such. This could be a five star recipe, but it would take more seasonings. I will probably double the chili powder, add some cumin, garlic powder, red pepper flakes and a can of tomato paste to make it a little richer. I will probably switch out one of the regular cans of tomatoes to one with chiles in it. A dash of hot sauce would probably help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Best chili recipe I've had! My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
not very saucy, but otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I only changed using black beans instead of 2 cans of red kidney (so 1 and 1). I used turkey instead of beef. I used a bit of red pepper flakes. I didn't use a green pepper or onions as I'm not a fan of onion. Based on that, everything else was followed and this was great! I make meals for myself and this scored 7-8 meals for me. This demands cheese but a cheese stick suffices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States