Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My mom isn't big on spicy chili or a lot of beans so this is perfect for us. I used ground pork today since it was on sale and it came out as delicious as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this Chili 5 times and everybody loved it Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I just made this for the second time. I halved the recipe, but put in almost all the beans called for, the whole can of tomato sauce and an 8oz package of LightLife meat substitute (I am vegetarian). It was soooooo delicious. I still have some left in the refrigerator for the next few days. Great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have been making this recipe for a while now, and it's ALWAYS a hit! I'm a college student, so I love a cheap recipe with little effort. I have played with it and made variations. I never use beef, always turkey (my mom even used elk once!) To make a vegetarian chili, swap the meat for a bag of frozen mixed veggies. I'm always liberal with the garlic and chili powder. Diced tomatoes are better than crushed, but if that's what you have then use it. It will come out a little more soupy but no less tasty. And use whatever beans you have, it doesn't matter. Never disappoints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORNINGCHILD
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I absolutely swear by this recipe! It's never let me down. Let me say it's great as it is written. I've made some adjustments to it but NOT because it lacks anything at all - just personal preferences based on what I like (or don't like as much)... That said, here are my alterations to some of the listed ingredients and I added a new one: 1 lb. stew meat; 1 lb. lean ground beef; 1 can of kidney beans; 1/2 of a large onion, chopped; 1 (4 oz.) can of chopped green chilis... Also, at the end, I take about 1/4 cup of cornstarch in a bowl, dissolve it in water and stir it in to thicken. The rest of the ingredients I use as directed. It's really an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I never made chili before and everyone told me it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this chili with only one exception. As I don't like bell pepper, I used only 1/2. It was amazing! This chili was hearty yet not chalk full of beans. It went well with cornbread and basmati rice or all on it's own. My husband and daughters really enjoyed this meal. My oldest keeps asking me to make it again & I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Delicious base recipe! I used only one pound of ground chuck browned with a little salt, pepper, garlic and onion. I added a jalepeño, a can of maple baked beans, an extra clove of garlic, 1 teaspoon of cumin, and 2 tablespoons of honey. I let it simmer 8 hours on high (my crockpot doesn't get as hot as others). It came out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is my go-to chili recipe! Made as written, I find it needs a little extra spice. I add cumin, more chili powder, paprika, and seasoned salt. I use Rotel chile with lime tomatoes, 16oz tomato sauce, because we like a soupier chili. I also add a packet of chili seasoning, along with my own seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
It's just okay. Definitely not worth a remake. I found it bland and uninteresting. I added cayenne, and it was still flat. I'm going to try the one with Cocoa pwdr, coffee, and beer next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States