Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I love this recipe...soooo easy to make and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful basic chili recipe. I altered the recipe slightly to suit my tastes and it was delicious! I substituted Rotel for the diced tomatoes to add a bit more flavor and spice. I omitted the green pepper simply because I don't care for it. I doubled the garlic and added about 4 teaspoons of freshly ground cumin. I also added 1 can of water on top of the tomato sauce because it looked a little dry. I served with sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream and cornbread. Very quick and easy to throw together and wonderful to come home to at the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made Chili, and I had my in-laws over!!! I was searching for a good recipe to impress them with and I think I did all because of this delicious recipe! It truly is the best! I did add 1 more TBS of Chili Powder and 1 TBS of Cumin like many of the other reviews suggested, it was a hit! Can't wait to eat our left overs tonight! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
just okay, nothing special. might try it again as a basic recipe but needs several additions...maybe more beans, seasonings & less meat. also wouldn't bother to cook it so long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
5 stars if you use chili beans, and this doesn't need to cook very long, in fact it tastes better if you cook it less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Pretty darn good, but it turned out a bit 'salty'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
A winter-time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirtza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe seems like a good start as-written (too dry, though?), and it is easy to alter to suit your taste. I like a lot going on in my chili, and so I added the following: 1 bottle of beer, 1 large chipotle, cumin, oregano, 2 Tbsp tomato paste, lots more garlic, and some frozen corn at the end of cooking. I added a second can of tomato sauce, which may not have been necessary. I used only 1 large onion. I cooked it for 8 hours on low and served the chili with cheese, green onions, cilantro and sour cream on top. Would have included tortilla chips, but I caught the hubby finishing off the bag earlier that day - oops. Anyway, we ate seconds of the chili, and there is still plenty left to freeze. I usually reduce the number of stars when I alter a recipe so much but not this time because it is a good basic. I will make again with changes - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I love this recipe and use it all of the time. I make changes to the recipe depending on my mood and what I have in my fridge or cupboard (I like to add different veggies such as corn or mushrooms or different peppers)...and I always add about a teaspoon of cumin...not because the recipe is lacking...just because I love cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdL03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States