Slow-Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was a great base for slow-cooked chili and easy enough to modify. Once we got to the last hour in the slow-cooker we tasted it to see how things were progressing. We wound up added more of everything (salt, garlic, chili powder, pepper) plus a healthy splash of hot sauce. Topped it with shredded Gruyere. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My very 1st review. Made this yesterday. I'm not much of a cook so, slow cookers are a GOOD thing. Turned out pretty good. I did add a couple of things not in the original recipe, ie: 1 stalk of celery (chopped coarse) and a small can of tomato sauce as other reviewers stated it might not have enough liquid and just a touch of cayenne. All in all, I enjoyed it, although it doesn't make 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I never liked chili much before trying this recipe but it has become a household favorite. My husband has even admitted it's better than his mother's! We enjoy it with cornbread or cheddar bay biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelMel
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great base for a recipe, but not enough liquid from the ingredients listed. I added a couple of teaspoons of cayenne pepper and a can of tomato sauce. Also substituted ground turkey for the beef. After that, it turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. For one thing, this needs WAY more liquid. The juice from two cans of diced tomatoes is not nearly enough! I was quite disappointed that there was nothing to dip my bread bowl top into. :( Flavor-wise, this was "OK," but my hubs and I agree that we've had much better. Thanks anyways, jrgh17.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Very easy and very tasty. The family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made this chili recipe and found it very tasty. The 2 pounds of ground beef was perfect for the amount of beans and the peppers made it perfect. I did top it with sour cream and sharp cheddar...yummy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is exactly how my dad taught me 45 yrs ago, minus the peppers. I may try peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is just like a recipe that came with a list of recipes from my slow cooker! You do need to modify though, I use 2 cans of the 28 oz Tomatoes and 3 Tbsp of the Chili Powder. I add 1 - 2 Tsp Cumin, a Tbsp of pickle juice, and a pickle. You really can go as wild or as tame as your want adding additional flavors spices etc. Great base chili recipe and it is what I have always use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is just like the chili I make only I use canned pinto beans (Bush's) and also add cumin and cayenne pepper. The ground beef is chuck which produces more grease (drained in a colander)but also much more flavor. I use a cast iron dutch oven and the "fond" made by the browned ground chuck is terrific, once the liquid goes in! Maybe Jay is a bit too finicky about his chili, jrgh17. This is good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States