Slow Cooked Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I added to the recipe, liquid smoke, garlic (3cloves) and worchester sauce, and I wish I had used less sugar. I also cooked my onions, and my bacon a bit before adding it because I think it adds a lot of flavor. I also soaked my beans, then boiled them on the stove top for about an hour, this way you can skim off the foam at the top, which makes the bean release their gas. :) Overall very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a great recipe for me, since I have never tried baked beans from scratch before. I used pinto beans, and they were almost overdone - but I had done a little pre-soak to them. I agree with other reviewers that they are a little bland as written. After tasting it, I added a little white vinegar and spicy mustard to the sauce, and that helped. I took the recommendation of others and eased up on the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
loved this recipie, they turned out great, I, however, had to cook them 5 hrs longer than the recipie said to. The beans were actually hard when I tried them at first. But when they were done they were terrific. I will soak over night next time ,but do everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Sorry. This didn't work for me. I actually soaked the beans for 12 hours before starting the recipe. After 2 days of cooking, the beans were still not done to our satisfaction! The flavor was ok, but I like my beans 'cooked' not 3/4 done. I have tried beans in the crockpot before and I have always found this to be the case. There is nothing like slow simmering on top of the stove to make a good pot of beans. Didn't change the recipe except to add some liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Not sure what is wrong with this, but it doesn't work. Maybe it's the Kidney Beans... not used to those in homemade beans. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I liked it, I think it could use a little more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I did these beans for the family picnic. Usually I used canned baked beans but the price has gone up quite a bit. So I dragged out my white beans followed the recipe adjusted for 20 servings. I cooked the beans low and slow over night adding some liquid smoke, then adding the rest of the ingredients later as directed. At first I though they would be too sweet, but the dinner wasn't for three more hours, so the beans simmered real slow till the end. They were just right. I will definitely use this recipe for baked beans. They cost a fraction of the ones I used canned ing. with and tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I make a similar dish (my moms) and it has Always been a hit and requested often. I use kidney beans as well as brown beans but I also add onion and hamburg. I use yellow mustard instead of dry and No molasses. I have never used cured pork and dont imagine I will try it. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was good - but I should have cooked the beans longer - they were still too firm after all that cooking!I added BBQ sauce to this and since I had some fresh salsa in the fridge I threw it in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We really liked this recipe. The only item we didn't add was the pork. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States