Slow Cooked Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
loved these beans, you can make alot of beans for real cheap and much better than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Excellent! I used leftover ham skin for the pork, but otherwise made the recipe as specified. We loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is a very good and easy recipe for baked beans! I love how you can just throw everything into the slow cooker and not fuss with soaking or boiling anything! I used 3 bacon slices instead of the pork, because I didn't have any, and they turned out very well. I think I will try using white beans next time I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These were good beans as is, but for my own personal tastes I'd like to doctor them up a bit with some more spices next time... I used great northern beans and my leftover Christmas ham. My crockpot doesn't have a tight seal so I ended up adding about 3 cups more water so they wouldn't dry out... I also started them out on high for 2 hours then lowered the setting for 3 hours more. Thickened with some cornstarch/water. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These were amazing! Soaked the beans overnight and reduced water to 3 cups when cooking. Also added shredded barbequed chicken during last hour of cooking. Made a complete and very tasty meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Lake, Maine, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
As usual, I changed this recipe up a little bit. I doubled the recipe & used bacon instead of cured pork. I also soaked the beans beforehand. Because of this, I only needed six cups of water when I put it all in the slow cooker (3 cups if the recipe wasn't doubled). I like my beans a little sweeter, so I added 4 more tbsp of brown sugar to my doubled recipe. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Made these for a Birthday BBQ, used salt pork instead of beacon. Should have left out salt , cut it to 1/2ts. came out a little salty. Cooked 45 min with a potatoe to remove salt and turned out great but still a little on salty side. No on seamed to notice, all gone many came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Yummy! I was fresh out of cured pork so I used cut up bacon instead. Delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Way too sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
These are really good baked beans. I doubled the recipe and made for July 4th. The recipe is improved by soaking the beans overnight. I also added a few dashes of Tabasco, but that would just be for personal taste. I'll make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States