Slow Cooked Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
loved this recipie, they turned out great, I, however, had to cook them 5 hrs longer than the recipie said to. The beans were actually hard when I tried them at first. But when they were done they were terrific. I will soak over night next time ,but do everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Sorry. This didn't work for me. I actually soaked the beans for 12 hours before starting the recipe. After 2 days of cooking, the beans were still not done to our satisfaction! The flavor was ok, but I like my beans 'cooked' not 3/4 done. I have tried beans in the crockpot before and I have always found this to be the case. There is nothing like slow simmering on top of the stove to make a good pot of beans. Didn't change the recipe except to add some liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Not sure what is wrong with this, but it doesn't work. Maybe it's the Kidney Beans... not used to those in homemade beans. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I liked it, I think it could use a little more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I did these beans for the family picnic. Usually I used canned baked beans but the price has gone up quite a bit. So I dragged out my white beans followed the recipe adjusted for 20 servings. I cooked the beans low and slow over night adding some liquid smoke, then adding the rest of the ingredients later as directed. At first I though they would be too sweet, but the dinner wasn't for three more hours, so the beans simmered real slow till the end. They were just right. I will definitely use this recipe for baked beans. They cost a fraction of the ones I used canned ing. with and tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I make a similar dish (my moms) and it has Always been a hit and requested often. I use kidney beans as well as brown beans but I also add onion and hamburg. I use yellow mustard instead of dry and No molasses. I have never used cured pork and dont imagine I will try it. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was good - but I should have cooked the beans longer - they were still too firm after all that cooking!I added BBQ sauce to this and since I had some fresh salsa in the fridge I threw it in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We really liked this recipe. The only item we didn't add was the pork. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe was amazing! my family loved it and so did I, it was easy, ive never made baked beans before and it turned out better than i could have imagined. I made 15 servings, and poured more water in and rounded up on the ingredients, i also put my slow cooker on high for 6 1/2 hrs. this is a treasured recipe now, my husband said it smelled like his grandmothers house when he came home from work, and that is a complement since no one compares to grandma! Thanks for the wonderful recipe, i wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Really yummy! I got a deal on chicken hot dogs for $1.50 a pkg so I added 4 dogs, chopped up, instead of salt pork or bacon and added extra salt. Kids LOVED it. Will make again with bacon and/or salt port - whatever's on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States