Slow Cooked Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I added pepper, vinegar, tomato paste and honey (instead of ketchup- didn't have any), skipped the molasses,added chili powder, garlic, liquid smoke and smoked beef roast instead of pork,I also used small pink beans and cranberry beans instead of kidney beans , delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Amazing recipe! I used bacon rather than pork, and its yet my favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Really wonderful flavor! I would recommend using white beans instead of the kidney. My family loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I used regular white beans and found that I didn't have to cook them as long as the recipe suggests. They turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I put these in overnight and it smelled so good in here when I got up! I've tried to make 'homemade' baked beans before with no success. This recipe worked! My husband is going to be very happy for supper tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Good basic recipe for beans, but I do not enjoy kidney beans cooked this way... I always use pea beans or yellow eye beans. It is important that you do not put the molasses and brown sugar in at the beginning of the cooking... they must be cooked or at least soft before adding any type of sugar because the sugar toughens the outside casing or hull of the beans. The time that the beans cooks before adding the rest of the ingredients acts as the parboil or soaking that we do with beans when we don't use the slow cooker. Good recipe, but we don't like ketchup in our beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Came looking for something besides chili for my red kidney beans, this was great! Simple and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
A sweet and tasty recipe. I made mine in the slow cooker and my house smelled wonderful all day. My whole family liked these beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a good start on sweet beans but I too thought this receipe needed some help. Thanks for the Idea of molasses in beans! Will play around with this one.Thanks and God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I added to the recipe, liquid smoke, garlic (3cloves) and worchester sauce, and I wish I had used less sugar. I also cooked my onions, and my bacon a bit before adding it because I think it adds a lot of flavor. I also soaked my beans, then boiled them on the stove top for about an hour, this way you can skim off the foam at the top, which makes the bean release their gas. :) Overall very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States