Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I added cinnamon sugar to the apples, then used some homemade gingerbread for the bread cubes and sprayed with butter-flavored cooking spray. It was YUMMY especially with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luray, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe was great!! Although, I got the directions wrong and mixed the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt with the apples. I corrected it by mixing another 1/2 cup brown sugar with a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg with the bread cubes. Poured butter over the whole thing and let it cook on low for 3 1/2 hours. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chenango Forks, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Simple, easy to prepare and tasty. I added some oats and served it with custard. This is by no means a fancy dessert set to impress but for a simple midweek or family dessert this is ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was so good, and so easy. I used 3 fuji apples, 1 granny smith, and a pear, just because. I added approx. 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract to the melted butter. Oh I also threw in 1/2 c. chopped pecans with the bread, was good with and would have been good without too. This one is a keeper because it is easy to prepare and most of the ingredients are things you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
LOVED it! I did make some changes..I sprayed the inside of my crock pot with a little pam. I tossed the apples in 2 tsp of lemon juice and 1 tsp cinnamon...I used a 1 cup of crushed grahm cracker instead of the sliced bread..and I added one cup of chopped walnut to the crumb topping. WHAT A HIT!!! kids loved it...Top it off with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I have made this several times. I like to add chopped pecans and/or raisins to my apples. We serve it either with milk poured over or with ice cream. The smell is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I followed someone's suggestion of using graham crackers instead of bread and tossing the apple slices in lemon juice, and it tasted GREAT! I left out nutmeg bc we didn't have it on hand, and added a mixture of brown and white sugar and layered it with the apples. Great recipe--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! As recommended by others, I used 3 fugi apples, 1 granny smith, and 1 bosc pear. I also used graham crackers instead of bread and mixed 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract with the melted butter. It was a hit! Not a drop left at my son's cub scout Blue and Gold Banquet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness. This is heavenly. My changes: 9 pieces of bread and 2 sheets (8 squares) of graham crackers that have been crumbled. No nutmeg. Instead I used a bit of apple pie spice. I did not layer bread mixture on top of apples. I mixed everything together and stireed about 4 times during cooking. Set on high for about 1 - 1 1/2 hours. Had it with a big spoonful of vanilla ice cream. Will make this very often for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 777Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I used plums instead of apples & this was awesome! I was just wanting to use up some plums, so I tried it. I did add the 2tsp of lemon juice to the fruit still. I also only used 4-5 pieces of bread; that seemed to be plenty. And, like some1 else I added some vanilla to the butter. Other than that I followed the directions exactly & it turned out to be delicious! The bread was perfect; not crunchy, just moist. And, we topped it with whipped cream ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States