Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
LOVED it! I did make some changes..I sprayed the inside of my crock pot with a little pam. I tossed the apples in 2 tsp of lemon juice and 1 tsp cinnamon...I used a 1 cup of crushed grahm cracker instead of the sliced bread..and I added one cup of chopped walnut to the crumb topping. WHAT A HIT!!! kids loved it...Top it off with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness. This is heavenly. My changes: 9 pieces of bread and 2 sheets (8 squares) of graham crackers that have been crumbled. No nutmeg. Instead I used a bit of apple pie spice. I did not layer bread mixture on top of apples. I mixed everything together and stireed about 4 times during cooking. Set on high for about 1 - 1 1/2 hours. Had it with a big spoonful of vanilla ice cream. Will make this very often for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 777Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was so good, and so easy. I used 3 fuji apples, 1 granny smith, and a pear, just because. I added approx. 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract to the melted butter. Oh I also threw in 1/2 c. chopped pecans with the bread, was good with and would have been good without too. This one is a keeper because it is easy to prepare and most of the ingredients are things you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Everyone I make this for loves it. I doubled the recipe for a crowd, layering apples, bread, apples, bread. It really fills a large crock pot. I usually use several kinds of apples, usually what is on sale, but try to include one type of baking apple. Is best with ice cream but have used a little half and half over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I have been wanting to try this easy recipe for a while, and had the chance today. I used sprouted wheat bread and 3 different kinds of apples. I also threw in a handful of granola that I had, along with about 2 tablespoons of water. It was really good, I love the way it smells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
The flavor of this recipe was good, but the texture was off. I was expecting a bread pudding-type dessert. However it wasn't as moist as bread pudding, and it wasn't crispy either. The topping was just dry. Maybe next time I'll mix up the bread topping with the apples. I did like the ease and simplicity of this dessert. I served it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! As recommended by others, I used 3 fugi apples, 1 granny smith, and 1 bosc pear. I also used graham crackers instead of bread and mixed 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract with the melted butter. It was a hit! Not a drop left at my son's cub scout Blue and Gold Banquet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe was great!! Although, I got the directions wrong and mixed the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt with the apples. I corrected it by mixing another 1/2 cup brown sugar with a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg with the bread cubes. Poured butter over the whole thing and let it cook on low for 3 1/2 hours. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chenango Forks, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Simple, easy to prepare and tasty. I added some oats and served it with custard. This is by no means a fancy dessert set to impress but for a simple midweek or family dessert this is ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I thought this was very easy and simple to make but when eating it just seemed like to much bread. It had a good taste but I could have also used a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States