Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
An easy way to use up bread before it goes bad. Kids could have liked it more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mebyrne
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I agree with all the rest of the reviewers, this recipe is definately well worth it! It's very sweet and very buttery. My change was only that I used 10 slices of Apple Cider Raisin bread available at the local grocers at this time of year. It is a rather large loaf so 10 slices made a batch that was more bread than it was apples. No problem. My family loved it anyway. The next time I make it, I think I will go 5 and 5. 5 cups of apples and only 5 slices of bread. This recipe is going into the recipe box, there is no doubt about that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mebyrne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
loved this recipe except, i substituted quick cooking oatmeal,instead of the bread cubes. cinnamon-raisin bread will also be a good altenative to white bread. i have a "crock-ette" a smaller version of the crockpot. so i could make half of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used graham crackers and my family really liked it. We had it warm over vanilla ice cream. The creaminess of the ice cream was a perfect compliment. I do think that it has room for improvement though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I used plums instead of apples & this was awesome! I was just wanting to use up some plums, so I tried it. I did add the 2tsp of lemon juice to the fruit still. I also only used 4-5 pieces of bread; that seemed to be plenty. And, like some1 else I added some vanilla to the butter. Other than that I followed the directions exactly & it turned out to be delicious! The bread was perfect; not crunchy, just moist. And, we topped it with whipped cream ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness. This is heavenly. My changes: 9 pieces of bread and 2 sheets (8 squares) of graham crackers that have been crumbled. No nutmeg. Instead I used a bit of apple pie spice. I did not layer bread mixture on top of apples. I mixed everything together and stireed about 4 times during cooking. Set on high for about 1 - 1 1/2 hours. Had it with a big spoonful of vanilla ice cream. Will make this very often for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 777Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
It was tasty but I need to cut the bread cubes smaller. Also I would have mix the butter with the cinnamon & sugar then tossed it with the bread cubes instead of puring it over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! As recommended by others, I used 3 fugi apples, 1 granny smith, and 1 bosc pear. I also used graham crackers instead of bread and mixed 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract with the melted butter. It was a hit! Not a drop left at my son's cub scout Blue and Gold Banquet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
All-n-all the recipe is easy to follow. As for taste, whats not to like about apples and brown sugar. Use your favorite cooking apple and you should be happy with it. As for the bread type topping, did not care for it at all. Would like to find a substitute that has a bit more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I added cinnamon sugar to the apples, then used some homemade gingerbread for the bread cubes and sprayed with butter-flavored cooking spray. It was YUMMY especially with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luray, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States