Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This recipe was fabulous! The only changes I made were to add a little lemon juice to the apples and I used cinnamon raisin bread instead of other suggested types of bread. We also had it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Wonderful flavor and so easy. I'll make this ofton for my family (who raved about it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
FLOP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McCountant
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Really good basic recipe. I followed the measurements exactly (although I followed a variation for the bread), and the buttery spice taste came out just like I like it. Not too strong, not overly buttery for my own tastes. I used whole wheat pita, added a couple of handfuls of oatmeal, and some walnuts. I don't think I'd have liked it as much without the oats and walnuts - they add some needed texture. I had no ice cream to eat with it, but that would have been really good. My hubby and I ate it warm right out of the crockpot and both enjoyed. It was a little dry, but if we'd eaten it with ice cream that probably wouldn't have been an issue. I'll make this again and probably use more apples next time - very easy, quite tasty and comforting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCountant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was ok - I used different types of apples, just what I had in the fridge already. Husband liked it but I didn't like the texture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
as per other reviews i cut butter in half upped the amount of apples and stirred while cooking every 30 minutes. I also added about 1C apple juice. The outcome was glorious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjpyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I used 4 apples (1 granny, 3 empire) and sliced right into crock pot. Added 2 tsp lemon juice and stirred it up. Mixed 1 cup cinnamon graham crackers (instead of bread) with 1/2 tsp vanilla + recipe ingredients. It was on high for 1 1/2 hours (small slices); smells and tastes great! **UPDATE** I doubled the recipe to bring to a meeting. I put the apples first, then the topping, then the SECOND layer of apples with its topping. This way all the apples have the cinnamon and sugar taste. Started the slow cooker at my house 1/2 hour on low, drove to the meeting, plugged it in again for an hour on low. Perfect! Not mushy, but next time I'll be cutting back on the butter to 3/4 stick because the apples all just swimming in butter at the bottom. (By using cinnamon graham crackers, no separate cinnamon spice is needed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious. I served it last night for dessert to my company with Vanilla Bean ice cream. It's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
An easy way to use up bread before it goes bad. Kids could have liked it more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mebyrne
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I agree with all the rest of the reviewers, this recipe is definately well worth it! It's very sweet and very buttery. My change was only that I used 10 slices of Apple Cider Raisin bread available at the local grocers at this time of year. It is a rather large loaf so 10 slices made a batch that was more bread than it was apples. No problem. My family loved it anyway. The next time I make it, I think I will go 5 and 5. 5 cups of apples and only 5 slices of bread. This recipe is going into the recipe box, there is no doubt about that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mebyrne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
loved this recipe except, i substituted quick cooking oatmeal,instead of the bread cubes. cinnamon-raisin bread will also be a good altenative to white bread. i have a "crock-ette" a smaller version of the crockpot. so i could make half of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States