Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My wife and I thought this was an excellent recipe. This dish was served with ice cream and it came out great. I noticed that some people who ate this dish without ice cream were not as impressed with it. I will definitely make this again. It is a simple recipe to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Ho hum. No great shakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Just made this tonight and it turned out great. My modifications: used 5 granny smith, 4 fuji apples, added vanilla extract, reduced to 1/2 cup brown sugar, used 10 slices of freshly baked cinnamon raisin bread from our local grocer's bakery, and added another 1/4 cup of butter. I mixed everything all together in the crock before setting. Delicious and easy; this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This recipe was fabulous! The only changes I made were to add a little lemon juice to the apples and I used cinnamon raisin bread instead of other suggested types of bread. We also had it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Wonderful flavor and so easy. I'll make this ofton for my family (who raved about it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
FLOP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McCountant
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Really good basic recipe. I followed the measurements exactly (although I followed a variation for the bread), and the buttery spice taste came out just like I like it. Not too strong, not overly buttery for my own tastes. I used whole wheat pita, added a couple of handfuls of oatmeal, and some walnuts. I don't think I'd have liked it as much without the oats and walnuts - they add some needed texture. I had no ice cream to eat with it, but that would have been really good. My hubby and I ate it warm right out of the crockpot and both enjoyed. It was a little dry, but if we'd eaten it with ice cream that probably wouldn't have been an issue. I'll make this again and probably use more apples next time - very easy, quite tasty and comforting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCountant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was ok - I used different types of apples, just what I had in the fridge already. Husband liked it but I didn't like the texture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
as per other reviews i cut butter in half upped the amount of apples and stirred while cooking every 30 minutes. I also added about 1C apple juice. The outcome was glorious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjpyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I used 4 apples (1 granny, 3 empire) and sliced right into crock pot. Added 2 tsp lemon juice and stirred it up. Mixed 1 cup cinnamon graham crackers (instead of bread) with 1/2 tsp vanilla + recipe ingredients. It was on high for 1 1/2 hours (small slices); smells and tastes great! **UPDATE** I doubled the recipe to bring to a meeting. I put the apples first, then the topping, then the SECOND layer of apples with its topping. This way all the apples have the cinnamon and sugar taste. Started the slow cooker at my house 1/2 hour on low, drove to the meeting, plugged it in again for an hour on low. Perfect! Not mushy, but next time I'll be cutting back on the butter to 3/4 stick because the apples all just swimming in butter at the bottom. (By using cinnamon graham crackers, no separate cinnamon spice is needed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious. I served it last night for dessert to my company with Vanilla Bean ice cream. It's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States