Slow Cook Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made this and served with rice noodles, and spring rools. Was a hit in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
We (the two adults in the family, the 4 year old did not eat it) really enjoyed this when I took suggestions from some other reviews. I used coconut milk, not chicken broth. I added a bit more garlic. I cut the cumin in half. And, I used chicken thighs (with bone). We cooked enough to have the night of and the next day for lunch, both were fine. I served it with brown rice. I was asked to keep the recipe to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I have to say, that for someone who does NOT like peanut butter, this was pretty darn good! I already had leftover chicken so I used that instead and follow the recipe (except for the 5 hours on the crockpot. Will do that next time because I LOVE my crockpot.. For my own taste, I added more lime juice (about another 1/4 cup) and 1/2 cup more chicken broth. I used Sesame seed oil to warm up the chicken (remember, I didn't do the crockpot part this time). Next time, I will reduce the peanut butter down to 1/2 cup as someone suggested (again, just MY personal preference), to save calories and to make the pb taste a little lighter. It definitely needs enough pepper flakes, but I added that at the end so my 7 year old could eat it and...she loved it! Served it with sesame green beans (green beans cooked with sesame oil, soy sauce and garlic) and coconut rice (rice cooked using 1/2 coconut milk + 1/2 water) and it was a total hit! Authentic or not, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa's Mommy
Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe tonight for something different. We like all kinds of ethnic foods with rich flavor. I added a tad bit more salt to it, but followed the recipe as it was. The chicken was very tender and moist. I served it over pad thai noodles. I thought it was very good for a crock pot dish. Thanks. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a keeper. Everyone was reluctant with the peanut butter, but it was awesome. Did it exact to the recipe except my husband added more broth and mushrooms. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
No review yet but you will definitely get one. For now, it was just interesting reading these reviews. You have really sparked my interest. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Don't know why I tried this recipe...don't like the chicken breast, don't like crockpots and cannot eat red bell peppers. I used the whole thighs, substituted julienned carrots for the peppers and used a large heavy skillet to cook with. Seared the thighs in a little olive oil then proceeded with the rest of the recipe, simmering for one hour total. Served over rice noodles and slivered cabbage and carrots. OMIGOSH...it was incredible! Hubby loved it! I did use a few extra red pepper flakes because I love spicy hot and plan to use this recipe many more times with wild duck and pheasant as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is good. It is not meant to be authentic thai food. It is meant for someone wanting to use their slow cooker and incorporate thai "like" flavor into a slow cooker meal. People are being too harsh on the recipe. If you have a urge for authentic thai food then don't look up recipes in the slow cooker category. If you do not like spicy food then adjust the pepper and cumin. The reviews are for ideas and what worked and didnt not to bash it because it is not authentic. It is a good slow cooker meal for people who like pad thai sauce incorporated into a slow cooker meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgetshea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
So delicious I can't believe that I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
If there was an option to give this no stars, I would. I LOVE Thai food, I make Thai food I thought maybe the people giving it bad reviews didn't know about real Thai food. Now I know that the only people who like this are people who either don't know what real Thai food tastes like or they have no taste buds. I should have known better when I read that you combine peanut butter and red bell peppers in a crockpot. Should have used fish or peanut sauce and coconut milk. Actually, should have just make it like I normally do by stir frying the proper way. Needless to say, I rinsed all the chicken off, stir fried it with some rice noodles, and ate it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States