Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I thought this was a good recipe that froze well. The taste is very European so it may be an acquired taste. I made this for a family from Romania and they loved it...could not stop eating it. I will keep the recipe in my recipe box, but probably won't be making it for my family again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
An excellent recipe with authentic taste. It leaves the house smelling wonderful as it cooks. I do reduce the amount of water that is called for, however. When I make these I usually freeze half since there are only two of us. They still taste great, even after being frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This my 'go to' recipe for stuffed cabbage. I recently made a double batch the day before I planned to serve it. I refrigerated it uncooked overnight and the flavors really melded into a super tasty dish. The only thing I tinkered with was substituting cut up kielbasa for the bacon. This recipe is just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
fantastic! I did use base pasta sauce instead of tomato soup. But holy cow we ate this almost completely gone and there were only 5 of us. One of them being a 2 year old who gobdled up a complete roll saying num num num the whole time. And my mother who does not like cooked cabbage and she ate 3 rolls. I served them over white rice. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. I've had stuffed cabbage before but never with sauerkraut. This recipe is a keeper. I made the recipe just as called out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joshua, Texas, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I used ground turkey as a substitute for the beef/pork for a healthier alternative and it turned out great. The soup mixed in with the ground turkey keeps it very moist and adds great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I decided to make stuffed cabbage and out of curiosity looked up how other people make it. I discovered this recipe and it is similar to the recipe that I make handed down from my slovak/"ruthenian" grandmother (Helen). The only difference is, the diced tomatos are substitued by tomato sauce, and bacon with kielbasa. I've' tried bacon and diced tomatos,(out of necessity) but prefer my grandmother's way. I like to cook this in oven at 350 and cover for the first hour then uncover the last 1/2 hour. So, I guess I'm stickin with my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Good recipe! I had a similar recipe and couldn't find it. This one is almost exact,except you line your pan with 1/2 sauerkraut and place the "rolls" on top, and place remaining "kraut" on top of rolls, then cover with tomato sauce/soup and add bacon on top. I make this dish for family reunions,work parties etc, and am always asked for the recipe! And my family makes sure I am bringing this for gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Just like Granny used to make! I loved this recipe. I used sliced kielbasi instead of bacon because that's the way my Grandma always did it. I'm not very good at rolling the cabbage though. I had a ton of leftover meat and ended up making meatballs out of it and made extra sauce to cover and bake them in the oven. My boys love the meat more than the cabbage anyway, so it worked out perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chazlyn
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURIE
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was really yummy! I followed the recipes exactly except I didn't cook the rice prior to adding it. I think next time I will try to make this a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States