Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This recipe is so close to mine that I wanted to review it and give a few tips that I use when making my cabbage rolls. First, not only should you drain the sauerkraut, but you should also rinse it thoroughly and squeeze the excess water out. This removes the brine that seems to give sauerkraut it's bad rep. A good old world recipe boils the cabbage head and the shortcut of freezing the head overnight leaves the cabbage leaves rubbery. It's an old world recipe and shortcuts like this are not good unless you just hate cabbage and throw the leaves out anyway. There is a large hard vein that runs down the center of the cabbage leaves near where it comes off the core. This can be cut out so your cabbage leaf is tender. That hard vein cannot be tenderized so get it our of there. Use smoked bacon-as it cooks, it helps to further tenderize those cabbage leaves as the fat renders down on top of rolls, plus it adds a smoky flavor to the sauerkraut. Last of all, (no offense to anyone) the flavor of pork mixed with beef cannot be replaced by ground turkey. It does change the flavor and taste of this old world recipe and the fat content of the pork helps to tenderize the cabbage covering the rolls. I suggest you try the recipe as directed to try it old world then review it. (Most people don't go through the trouble of making cabbage rolls very often so live a little here. If you plan to fix this frequently, then add your ground turkey and make it more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'll be honest, I've never had stuffed cabbage before. So this was the first time making it AND eating it. My husband LOVED it. He used to eat boiled cabbage as a kid in Australia and the cooked cabbage brought back memories. He had never heard of cabbage stuffed with meat, though. I guess I was expecting more tomato sauce - - it was kind of watery with all the extra water to bring the liquids up to the cabbage rolls. Next time I might reduce that a bit or use a can of tomato sauce instead. Also, the bacon on top got a bit burnt so I'll probably add that under the sauerkraut (which I really thought added some needed flavor to the rolls). Thanks, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Hey Kelly, you got the recipe down to the tee! This is what our cabbage tastes like, it really is. I have shown the recipe to my granny (we are from Slovakia, living in Slovakia) and she asked me if I was pinching her cookbook lately :)) This really is the taste of home to me, thank you. Jana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dereynolds
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Good stuff very similar to what my mom always made growing up. I used beef and lamb mixture instead of pork since I'm not a fan of pork. I also made it with sliced pieces of beef polska kielbasa on top instead of bacon since that is how my family has always made it. I prefer fresh garlic so I used that and added a splash of Worcestershire sauce and an egg. You got to add the sauerkraut it really adds to the dish and makes this a better stuffed cabbage that others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dereynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I omitted the bacon for a healthier version, and I also used half beef and half turkey instead of pork. I didn't have to add that much water to it, I think I maybe added one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly (except that to make it Gluten Free I couldn't use the condensed tomato soup so I exchanged it for GF tomato soup and decreased the amount of water we added) and it is fantastic as written! I had never added sauerkraut or bacon to my stuffed cabbage before and I'm so glad that I did because it made the sauce absolutely delicious. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Yummyyyyy if you love cabbage. Use all the kraut it calls for - it tastes amazing even if you aren't much of a kraut fan and I used pre cooked bacon so it was nice and crisp. Really good combo of flavors for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmInMontana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is THE BEST stuffed cabbage recipe ever. Being from Pittsburgh I was elected to make 50 rolls for a gathering, since I said I knew how to make them. They were gone in no time. Many were disappointed when we ran out! You can't beat this one. (I did use white rice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was just okay for us. It is worth a try though. If I were to do it again, I would boil the cabbage leaves after separating them from the head of cabbage. Lifting the whole head of cabbage from the boiling water was difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is the best stuffed cabbage I have tasted. The tomato soup adds nice flavor and the water makes it nicely juicy. I chopped the bacon and fried it with onion and added to the meat mixture rather than following the recipe. I also used sweet italian sausage because I did not have pork. This is really good. The sour krout adds good flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States