Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is excellent for a week night dinner. I never really cared for the Stuffed cabbage I have had in the past. I took a chance on this because of all the positive feedback. I made two batches with the intention of freezing one, but everyone asked to have it again for dinner the next evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Title of your recipe caught my eye since my father's family is Slovak (not Czech. he would say). My recipe came with white rice which I changed to brown which we prefer. Mostly identical to yours otherwise except my prep time is about double. Will look for other recipes of yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Good recipe just needs something....Can't wait to see if it gets better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christene Mullane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I have made this recipe at least a dozen times. Absolutely delicious just as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made some changes because I didn't have some items in my pantry/refrigerater. I skipped the canned tomatoes and just used the soup mixed with a little lemon juice, brown sugar, water and a dash of worcestershire sauce. Skipped the sour kraut and bacon... I liked the pork/beef mix in these. Oh and I didn't pre-cook the rice since it bakes long enough to cook it in the oven (will soak up a bit more moisture that way). Very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good as written. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is really yummy. I love the flavors and the second day is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I must say that this is the best stuffed cabbage recipe I have ever tasted. I have tried this recipe twice with superb results. The first time I used ground turkey and ground pork, instead of beef, to save calories. It came out perfect. I cooked the cabbage rolls in a slow cooker. The second time I made the recipe I used beef and pork and cooked it in a conventional oven. I admit I got lazy and did NOT individually wrap the cabbage rolls. Instead I layered it like I would lasagna - a layer of cabbage, then meat mixture, more cabbage, then sauerkraut and bacon, then tomato soup/sauce. I also experimented and added mild chunky salsa in place of the can of diced tomatoes to jazz it up a bit. But honestly, without any tweaks, this recipe works perfectly as it is written. Both times the stuffed cabbage came out perfect! It is my favorite recipe and kudos and giant kisses go out to the person who submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is a ton of work, but gets rave reviews. Allow yourself at least three hours total time. A couple of suggestions: * Salt the cooking water for cooking the cabbage * Rinse the cabbage after boiling with cool water to make it easier to handle * Double the rice and the parsley * Saute the onions before adding * Substitute 6 cloves of fresh garlic for garlic salt, and saute the garlic with the onions * Add 2 tbs. of Hungarian paprika to the meat mixture * Substitute marinara sauce for the tomato soup * Substitute brown sugar for white sugar * Cook the bacon and crumble before adding * Rinse the sauerkraut and squeeze out any excess liquid before adding That's my two cents. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I found the sauce to be a little on the watery side. Next time I think I would forego the soup for tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States