Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The recipe wasn't bad , but not as good as everyone else seemed to think. I thought the sauce was WAY too watery, and I didn't even use the full 3 cups. Also, next time I won't rinse the sauerkraut. The sauce could use some acidity. I used white rice, but next time will add more. I will also fry the bacon next time, and pour the fat from the pan on top of the cabbages, again I will use more bacon. I will make these again, but with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Be aware - this makes a lot of stuffed cabbage! My only comment - no need to use so much water. I only used 2 cups and it was pretty watery when done. I'll probably use 1 cup next time. I also used a large can of spaghetti sauce instead of tomato soup and Italian style diced tomatoes (this is what we had, otherwise I would have followed the recipe) and it was fantastic! Big hit in the house. I should have taken a picture - it was beautiful! The bacon was PERFECT. We used a nice smoked bacon with thick slices, gave everything a wonderful flavor. High recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is the best Stuffed Cabbage I have ever made. The touch of the sauerkraut was fantastic....in fact I am making it again this weekend. Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
FREEZE your cabbage head before hand, then thaw on the counter the night before. No burnt fingers!! But the cellulose (?) will break down from freezing and you'll have nice soft leaves to work with. Couldn't find our gramma's recipe so looking here to make sure I'm on the right track.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SallyBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Made these as written with the exception of using kielbasa instead of bacon. Really great - love the broth, delicious with some fresh bread and butter! I will be making these again and again, just without the bacon or kielbasa - doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This recipe is spot on! It's now my go-to for cabbage rolls! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
For the most part the recipe was very good, but adding the tomato soup, diced tomatoes and their juice, and water made the juices very thin. The taste was very good. The next day I drained the liquids from the pan and replaced them with a jar of prepared pasta sauce and reheated it in the oven. Turned out much better the sauce was thick and gave the whole dish a better flavor, in my opinion. I will make again but will take the extra time to prepare my own pasta sauce instead of the tomato soup and water mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Absolutely fabulous. The broth created is a great foundation for a soup. This is one of the best recipes I have ever tried from allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was my first time making cabbage rolls and I sure picked a winning recipe! I pretty much went by the recipe except I added a little more rice and seasonings to the meat mixture, and a little less sauerkraut. I halved the recipe and it makes a bunch even halving it! I had a medium head of cabbage and I still needed a few more leaves because I didn't get to use all the filling. I would think the full recipe would for sure need 2 heads of cabbage. I quickly learned that you only need to boil the cabbage until the leaves are just pliable. If you cook them for more than a couple minutes, they will break while trying to roll up. I also learned while rolling them, that its best to have the stem end facing you and to roll from that end first, rolling up to the leafier ends to make them hold up better. Never making cabbage rolls before I did not know all this, but quickly found out! I did add the water in the recipe and also cooked an extra hour than stated because it was very soupy with the water. It still came out soupy, so I just served it in soup bowls with a large spoon and extra sauce with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. It was actually very good "soup style" because the sauce really moistened the meat up inside. It was straight up comfort food! I will next time omit the water to get a more thicker sauce and see which we like better. Thanks for this great recipe! It takes some time but its well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My meat was hard/dry. Growing up, I remember the meat almost falling apart while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States