Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was my first time trying this recipe and it came out delicious! I will likely do it without the sauerkraut next time. I'm not a huge fan. But overall, this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I shred a potato and mix it in with the ground beef to stretch the mixture a bit and give it a sturdier base. also i put about twice as much pepper and salt than this recipe no other seasoning needed really its great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I had never made anything like this before but the picture caught my eye and I've been looking for some new recipes. The usual rotation can get old. I love cabbage so this was right up my alley. It turns out that my 18 month old loves it too because she couldn't get enough of it. (I was pleasantly surprised that she likes sauerkraut!) It turns out that this is a good thing because it looks like we're going to be eating leftovers for a few days. This recipe makes a lot of food! I made it exactly like the recipe said. Unfortunately this won't be making it into the rotation because: A. It is not difficult but it is time consuming and with 2 little ones at home I try to make simple things. B. Hubby is not as adventurous as me and our daughter and so he wasn't a fan of this dish. (I didn't take any stars away on account of my husband's bad taste in food.) ;P All that being said, I'm glad I tried it and sometimes it is worth it to spend the extra time to make something special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
The sauerkraut made this really good. I am perplexed by the 3 cups of water. I understand the top of the cabbage rolls shouldn't burn but the sauce was very watery. I'll decrease to 1 1/2 cups next time then loosely cover with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I had bad luck with my cabbage leaves! Should have gotten two heads of cabbage. Also: Be sure to take the big veins out of the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Amazing! Really skeptical about the tomato soup, but with all the amazing ingredients, it doesn't rate like it. Definitely cook the cabbage beforehand. Cut the stem out and you should have an upside V shape. Put the stuffing at the very top, fold left and right side over each other toward the middle to cover the stuffing, then roll the stuffing toward you. Makes for a prettier roll. Kids d of found this out near the end, oh well! Next time I will perfect it. And there will be a next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The amount of water was more than you could imagine. All the flavor is washed away in the CRAZY amt. of WATER. Im actually buying more tomato paste and sauce and soup to try and fix the sauce issue. The other issue is the BLAND MEAT! Now, i cant fix that since its inside the roll, so idk what else to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
awesome awesome awesome thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
A huge hit, made a bit much for our family of four, but the left-overs disappeared quickly. Most certainly a do-over. I did however add spices to the meat (as we like our meat well seasoned) I used a touch of all-spice and some cayanne pepper. We still would prefer a bit more kick with the meat, so I may add a couple hot peppers to the meat mixture next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
In Slovak they are called Holubce. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States